Point Reduction in IdahoPage Overview
You can enroll in a defensive driving or accident prevention course once every three years to have three points removed from your Idaho driving record.
Idaho approves a variety of course options, ranging from classroom to online courses, making it easy for drivers with busy schedules. Because the approved courses typically range from $18 to $60, most drivers can find courses within their budgets, too.
No Dismissed Traffic Tickets and Other Considerations
Idaho doesn’t dismiss tickets for completing defensive driving or accident prevention courses, nor will the court prevent a point accumulation for attending a course. The point reduction benefit applies only to points currently on your record.
If you want to take a course to prevent license suspension, you must do so before your points are high enough for suspension.
Idaho approves such a wide variety of defensive driving and accident prevention courses that what you’ll experience during your course will depend on the course you choose.
Some drivers prefer classroom courses because they learn best when they have one-on-one interaction with instructors; other drivers opt for online courses because these classes fit into their schedules. Typically, drivers can complete online defensive driving courses from the comfort of their own homes and at their own paces.
Regardless of the course you choose, expect to learn about:
- Safe driving practices.
- Traffic laws.
- How to handle extenuating driving conditions, such as inclement weather.
- The effects of dangerous driving practices, such as reckless driving or driving under the influence.
- The importance of driving defensively rather than offensively.
Once you complete the course, either:
- The course instructor (or the program’s administrators) will provide you with a hard-copy completion certificate to present to the DMV, or
- The course will electronically notify the DMV of your completion.
The method depends on the course you choose. Once you choose a course, make sure you ask about how and when you and/or the DMV will receive the completion course, and what to do if neither you nor the DMV receives the certificate.
Once you or the defensive driving course submits the completion certificate to the DMV, get a copy of your driving record to make sure the three points were removed.
If they weren’t, contact the DMV.Instant Idaho Driving Record
Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record. Each record may include suspensions, points, classifications, vital data, endorsements, expiration and driving status.
Some auto insurance companies offer discounts to drivers who successfully complete defensive driving courses, and Idaho mandates that companies provide discounts to drivers 55 and older for completing a course.
Drivers who want to take advantage of an auto insurance discount in addition to point reduction should talk with their providers before enrolling in the course and find out:
Compare Car Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
- Whether a discount for completing a course is an option, and how much of a discount is offered.
- Whether the insurance provider accepts the same courses approved by the DMV.
- How the insurance provider wants to receive proof of completion (i.e. from the policyholder or directly from the course).
1. Start Your Quote:Other Topics in This SectionRecommended Articles Next Prev
- 5 Important Steps If You Lost Your Drivers License
- I-94 Forms and Arriving in the U.S.
- What to do if the Colorado Floods Damaged Your Car
- 9 Urgent Must-Dos If You Lose Your Driver’s License
- 7 Reasons Student Drivers Fail Their Written Permit Exam
- Werner Herzog’s Texting-and-Driving Documentary Slated to Hit Hard
- Traveling With Pets Part 4: Pit Stops and Potty Breaks
- August 30-Day Green Challenge: Navy Showers
- Traveling With Pets Part 3: Keep Pets Calm and Relaxed
- Traveling With Pets Part 2: Pet Safety in the Vehicle
- How can I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
- What are the penalties for getting a traffic ticket while driving under the GDL program?
- How many points will I get if convicted?
- Say Hello to Tougher Texting-While-Driving Penalties, New York!
- Contesting an Out-of-State Traffic Ticket
- Traffic Ticket Myths: What’s Fact and What’s Fiction?
- Using Witnesses When Fighting a Traffic Ticket
- The Pros and Cons of Fighting a Traffic Ticket
- Traffic Ticket and DUI Penalties for Commercial Drivers
Can't find something? Let us help you find it!