Driving Records in IdahoPage Overview
- Driving Records in Idaho
- What Is an Idaho Driving Record?
- Types of Idaho Driving Records
- Who Sees Your Idaho Driving Record?
- Ordering Your ID Driving Record
- Fees for Idaho Driving Records
- Correcting Information on Your Idaho Driving Record
- Related Content
Verified As Of: 05/20/2015?Our goal is to give you the most up-to-date, accurate information about your state DMV's processes. The date you see here reflects the most recent time we've verified this information with your state DMV. When they change something, we do, too!
Driving Records for Employment
Businesses can order Idaho driving records as part of their employment screening practices from DrivingRecords.com. These driving records provide a history of violations, suspensions, and other details about a person's driving history.Order Now »
Although you can order a driving record directly from the Idaho DMV, one of the fastest ways to get your Driving Record for Employment Purposes is to order it online through a 3rd-party advertiser, such as DrivingRecords.com. They also offer other services such as criminal records, SSN verifications, and other employment screening services.
The Idaho Transportation Department keeps records on all drivers licensed in the state. You can request a driver license record from the Idaho DMV. Continue reading for more information about driving records and defensive driving courses in Idaho.
An Idaho driver license record keeps a record of all the violations, tickets, and actions taken against your Idaho driver's license.
Points Against Your Driving License
Accumulating too many points in a short period of time can result in a suspension of your ID driver's license. The Idaho DMV will send you a warning letter by mail if you get:
- 8 to 11 points accumulated in 12 months.
- 14 to 17 points in 24 months.
- 20 to 23 points in 36 months.
If you exceed the number of points allowed, your ID driving license will be suspended for the following periods:
- 30-day suspension for 12-17 points accumulated in 12 months.
- 90-day suspension for 18-23 points accumulated in 24 months.
- 6-month suspension for 24 points or more in 36 months.
NOTE: Your Idaho driving record will reflect all the points you accumulated from traffic violations. Points will remain on your Idaho driving record for 3 years.
The ID Transportation Department offers:
- A driver license record (for personal use).
- A certified driving record (for official use).
- The Idaho DMV charges an additional fee for this record.
- A third-party ID driving record (non-certified) and/or background check.
- For more information, see "Get Your Driving Record" above.
The following is a list those who may request a driving record besides the owner of the record:
- Anyone with notarized written consent from the driver.
- Court, law enforcement, or government agencies for official functions.
- Businesses with legitimate need for accurate information in order to prevent fraud, recover debt, or pursue legal actions.
- For use in research and reports where personal information is not disclosed or published, and drivers are not contacted.
- Insurance companies.
- Tow companies or impound yards.
- Licensed private investigators.
- Employers or their insurers verifying commercial driver license information.
- Those in operation of private toll transportation facilities.
- Those so authorized for public safety purposes.
All requests for driver license records (also called “driving records") from the Idaho Transportation Department must be processed by mail.
To obtain a copy of your Idaho driving record by mail, you'll need:
- A completed Idaho Motor Vehicle Driver's License Record Request (Form ITD 3120).
- A check or money order for your ID driving record fee (see “Fees for Idaho Driving Records" below).
- Do NOT send cash in the mail.
Send everything to the address listed on the form.
Your fee for driving records will vary depending on what information or type of record you need.
- Idaho driving record: $7.
- Certified Idaho driving record: Additional $14.
- Driving record plus copies of documents: $14.
- Photocopy per document: $7.
Acceptable Payment Methods
You can pay your fee with any of the following:
- Money order.
- Credit card (e.g., VISA, and MasterCard).
The Idaho Transportation Department does NOT accept cash.
NOTE: To pay by credit card, you will need to write the credit card number and expiration date in the proper box on your driving record request form.
If you need to correct the information on your ID driving record (or have general questions about your driving record), you can:
- E-mail the driver services office: email@example.com.
- Call: (208) 334-8736.
It is possible to lower the points on your driving record by a maximum of 3 points when you complete an approved defensive driving course. You are eligible to do this once every 3 years.Recommended ArticlesOther Topics in This Section