Drivers Ed in Idaho
DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver
Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It's like having the answers before you take the test.
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
- Just print and go to the DMV
- Driver's License, Motorcycle, and CDL
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Purchase a DMV Written Test Cheat Sheet
Driver's Ed in Idaho
If you're a teenager applying for your first driver's license, you'll need to complete a Driver's Ed program as part of the Idaho Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) graduated driver's license (GDL) program.
Driver's Ed can help you gain an understanding of safe driving techniques and practice the skills necessary to become a responsible driver. Additionally, driver's education may help you gain the driving experience needed to ace your DMV road test.
On this page you'll find information about Idaho driver's education requirements and the next steps you'll need to take to get your first driver's license.
Driver's Ed Requirements in Idaho
Driver's Ed is required if you are younger than 17 years old and applying for your first driver's license.
You can enter the Idaho DMV GDL program and begin your licensing requirements when you are at least 14 1/2 years old by obtaining your learner's permit and enrolling in an approved Driver's Ed program.
For more information about obtaining your permit, please see our Driver's Permit page.
New Idaho Residents
If you are younger than 17 years old and don't have an out-of-state driver's license, you'll need to submit your out-of-state driver's education completion certificate and complete the supervised driving requirements to get an Idaho driver's license.
NOTE: You will need to take an Idaho Driver's Ed course if your out-of-state program does not meet the ID DMV's requirements or if you haven't completed Driver's Ed in another state.
If you are transferring an out-of-state driver's license, you will not need to provide proof of completion of a driver's education course or satisfy the supervised driving requirements.
Remember, as a new resident, you have 90 days to transfer your out-of-state driver's license.
About Your Idaho Driver's Ed Program
Driver's Ed programs in Idaho are provided by both high schools and professional driving schools. Public school driver's education programs are available to anyone between 14 1/2 years old to 21 years old, even if they are not enrolled in that school.
To find a driver's education program that is right for you, search the current list of licensed commercial schools and instructors to help you locate a professional driving school near you.
Once you find a program, contact your course provider for details about cost and scheduling.
Course Curriculum & Hours
Your driver's education course will consist of both classroom sessions and in-car instruction. Your course will be broken down into a minimum of:
- 30 hours of classroom training.
- 6 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice.
- 6 hours of observing another driver.
Throughout the course, your driving instructor will cover topics including:
- Traffic laws.
- Sharing the road.
- Basic vehicle maneuvers and operation.
- Safe and defensive driving techniques.
Upon completing the course, you should have a strong foundation of the important skills and knowledge necessary to become a safe, responsible driver.
After Driver's Ed: Getting Your Driver's License
In addition to driver's education, before you can get your first driver's license, you'll need to:
- Complete 50 hours of supervised driving with a licensed adult (10 hours must be at night).
- Have no traffic violations for the past 6 months.
- Be at least 15 years old.
- Hold your learner's permit and wait at least 6 months after completing your Driver's Ed course before taking the DMV written and road tests.
For more information, please see our Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) page.
Have Pledged to Not Drive Distracted.