- Location: Idaho
Drivers with Disabilities in IdahoCompare Car Insurance Rates in 3 Steps
1. Enter Your Zip:Page Overview
- Disability Plates
- Types of Plates and Placards
- Personalized Disability License Plates
- The Application Process
- Medical Certification Section of the Application
- Fraudulent Application for a Plate or Placard
- Unauthorized Plate or Placard Use
- Out-of-State Visitors with Disabilities
- websites to Know
- Numbers to Know
The law defines disability as "a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more of the major life activities of such individual, a record of such an impairment, or being regarded as having such an impairment."
If you are unsure whether or not you qualify as a disabled driver, don't worry. Just ask yourself the following questions, and if you answer "yes" to any of them, you are in the clear to apply for disability plates and placards.
- Do I need the help of another person to walk 200 or more feet?
- Do I need the help of a walker, crutches, braces, a prosthetic device or a wheelchair to walk 200 or more feet?
- Do I experience notable difficulty or discomfort while walking due to impairments that are either neurological, orthopedic, respiratory, cardiac, arthritic, or involve blindness or the loss of function (or absence) of a limb(s)?
As a person with a disability, you are subject to all Idaho motor vehicle laws if your vehicle displays a special license plate or placard issued by this or any other state. At the same time, you are granted a number of special privileges such as:
- The right to park your vehicle in any metered public parking space for free.
- The right to park for any amount of time in parking zones or areas which otherwise limit drivers by designating a specified length of time.
- The right to fuel your vehicle from a full-service pump for the same price charged for using a self-service pump. This goes for gas stations that sell fuel at retail from both kinds of pumps (retailers are only required to pump fuel; the law includes no other services).
- The right to ask (and expect) an attendant to pump your gas at a self-service gas station if your vehicle bears a disability plate or placard (only if you are disabled and you are not accompanied by an able-bodied adult, and there is more than one attendant on duty). Look for special signs in the window of the gas station.
There are a few that are free of charge and they include permanent cards (limit of two), temporary cards (limit of one), and the replacement of a permanent card.
The fees for standard plates vary, and you will therefore receive a bill in the mail. Personalized disability license plates will run you an extra $25 initially, and then an additional $15 when you renew.
Don't send money with your application for either the personal or standard plate; wait patiently for your bill.
The rules get a bit more strict when it comes to obtaining a personalized disability license plate. For starters, you must pay an additional $25 in initiation fees and an extra $15 to renew, as stated above. There is no grace period on renewals, and they must be taken care of prior to expiration.
You must also supply a meaning for the personalized plate message. You are allowed to make three choices of personalizations, in case your preference is not available.
The steps to get a plate or placard are rather painless. Be sure you are familiar with the use provisions and the details of the eligibility section listed above, and completely and clearly fill out the application. Then get your physician to complete and sign the eligibility section (see below). Finally, mail or fax your application to the Idaho Transportation Department:
- Idaho Transportation Department
- Vehicle Services, Special Plates
- P.O. Box 7129, Boise, ID 83707-1129
- Fax: (208) 334-8542
There's no way around this one. In the bottom left corner of the application, you'll find a handy little box to be filled out by either a licensed physician, a licensed physician's assistant, or a licensed advanced-practice professional nurse. He or she will have to declare an expiration date if you are temporarily disabled (placards are good for anywhere from one to six months), as well as provide a medical license number and signature to prevent fraud.
And while we are on the topic―according to Idaho Code, Section 49-456, it is unlawful to "use a false or fictitious name or address in any application for the registration of any vehicle or for any renewal or duplicate, or knowingly to make a false statement or conceal a material fact or otherwise commit a fraud in any application."
According to Idaho law, a nondisabled driver who uses a disabled plate or placard to park in a handicap space can be fined $100. This law can be enforced by local police, who may check your ID to verify whether the plate or placard belongs to you.
If you have a disability plate or placard issued by another state, it is valid in Idaho. You are allowed the same privileges as drivers with Idaho-issued disability plates and placards―and you are required to follow Idaho's laws regarding those privileges.
If you are an Idaho resident who is expecting a disabled out-of-state visitor and you will need a temporary placard, call (208) 334-8649 to get advice on your specific circumstances. You might be able to receive a temporary disability placard, provided you complete the Disability License Plates and Placards Application and a qualified physician has verified your visitor's condition.
Idaho drivers who want to know whether their disability plates or placards are valid in another state can refer to our Drivers with Disabilities section for the state they are visiting.
The state's official website offers great info regarding disability. Here are a few others you'll find helpful:
- Idaho Commission for the Blind and Visually Impaired (ICBVI)
- Idaho Council for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing (CDHH)
- Idaho Council on Developmental Disabilities
- Idaho State Independent Living Council (SILC)
- Idaho Industrial Commission (for worker's compensation)
- Idaho Division of Vocational Rehabilitation (VR)
- U.S. Department of Justice ADA Information Line:
- (800) 514-0301 (Voice Mail)
- (800) 514-0383 (TDD)
- Employment Documents:
- (800) 669-3362 (Voice Mail)
- (800) 669-3302 (TDD)
Other Topics in This Section
- Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC):
- (800) 669-4000 (Voice Mail)
- (800) 669-6820 (TDD)
Organ Donation Survey
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Smog & Emission Checks
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸