Changing Your Address in Idaho
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
If you live in Idaho and do business with the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), then by law you must notify DMV of any address change within 30 days after you move. This allows them to keep updated records and send driver's license renewals to you in the mail if you qualify, and allows law enforcement to notify you or your family in emergencies.
Submitting your change of address to the Idaho DMV is rather painless. The DMV offers an online PDF of the Idaho Change of Address Request (form ITD 3239) that you can download and print.
(You will need the free Adobe Reader to download, read, and print PDF files.)
Once you have completed the ITD 3239, you have three options:
- Snail mail the Change of Address Request to:
- Driver Services
- Idaho Transportation Department
- P.O. Box 7129
- Boise, ID 83707-1129
- Fax to (208) 334-8586
- Or drop off the completed form at any county driver's license or auto license office
This process updates your driver's license address as well as your vehicle registration address. Just be sure you have your state driver's license (or ID card) number, as well as the receipt number that goes along with it, and your license plate number(s).
Changing Your Name on Your Driver's License or Identification Card
If your name changes―for example, because of a recent marriage or divorce―, you can easily update your driver’s license or identification card. You change your name on these forms of identification either by applying for a duplicate or at the time of renewal, given you are eligible to do so. At this time, you’ll also need to hand over your current driver’s license and/or identification card.
Legal Proof of Your New Name
When you visit the nearest county sheriff’s driver's license office, you’ll need to show the examiner acceptable proof that your name actually changed. You can use either certified marriage certificate that meets the State’s standards, a divorce decree, or documents from the court that reflect a date that falls later than the current record.
The fee for a duplicate license is $11.50. The fee for a duplicate ID card varies:
- $6.50 if you are less than 21 years old
- $7.50 if you need a four-year ID card
- $15 if you need an eight-year ID card
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- DMV New Resident Checklist
- Forms and Publications for New Residents
- Moving and Need to Change Your Address? Use This Address Change Checklist!
- Change of Address on Vehicle Registration and Titles
- Learn How to Change Your Address on Your Drivers License
- How to Notify the DMV of Your Address Change
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.