Applying for a New CDL in Idaho

To be eligible for a commercial driver's license (CDL) in the state of Idaho, you must fulfill a few requirements before you head to your county driver's license office.

For starters, you must be at least 18 years old and either possess a valid Class D (non-commercial) license or have passed the necessary tests required to obtain such a license.

What to Bring

Once you have fulfilled the below-mentioned requirements and you have adequately studied Idaho's Commercial Driver's License Manual, take a trip to your county driver's license office. A clerk will check your driving record, collect your fees, and administer the appropriate knowledge (written) tests. Be sure to bring your current driver's license, Social Security card, money to pay the necessary fees, and your medical certificate.

DOT Medical Certificate

As safety is the first priority, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration has set in place a physical examination requirement to help determine whether a driver is medically qualified to safely operate a commercial motor vehicle.

You can receive this exam through any medical examiner who is licensed, certified, and/or registered with the state to perform such exams, including doctors of medicine and osteopathy, physician assistants, advanced practice nurses, and chiropractors. Whoever does it must complete a Medical Examination Report (Form 649-F).


To best prepare for the knowledge (written) tests and three-part skills (road) test, study the Idaho Driver's Manual. You can also pick up both at your county driver's license office.

Familiarize yourself with all material associated with the written tests. The manual includes everything you will be tested on during the knowledge tests as well as information you will come across during the skills test.

Knowledge Tests and Endorsements

Depending on how you will use your CDL (to haul hazardous materials, to pull double or triple trailers, or to drive tank or passenger vehicles), you will need the proper endorsements. These require additional training and testing.

  • Hazardous Materials (H): The Hazardous Materials Transportation Act requires you to obtain placards if you are transporting hazardous materials. In addition, you are required to take a written test as well as to undergo a security threat assessment (background check). If you have an existing CDL with a hazmat endorsement, you will be notified when a security threat assessment is required.
  • Double/Triple (T): You only need this if you are pulling two or three trailers. A "jeep" (dolly or load divider) does not fall under this category.
  • Tank Vehicles (N): If you drive a vehicle with tanks that contain liquids or gaseous materials and are either permanently or temporarily attached to your vehicle or chassis, you will need this endorsement.
  • Passenger (P): If you drive a vehicle that can carry 16 passengers or more (including you), you will need to take written and skills tests to obtain this endorsement.
  • School Bus (S): If you drive a vehicle that transports preprimary, primary, or secondary school students to and from home, school, and/or school-sponsored events, you will need to take written and skills tests to obtain this endorsement. Keep in mind that federal law requires you to hold a CDL with a passenger endorsement as well as a school bus endorsement in order to operate a school bus.

Skills Test

Simply make an appointment with a CDL skills tester to take the skills test. If need be, you can rent a vehicle from some testers. Be sure you have with you proof of identification, proof of insurance, and your receipts as proof that you have passed the written tests and paid the skills test fee requirement.

You must take the test in a vehicle of the same class as that which you will eventually operate on the job. For example, if you take the skills test using a vehicle that does not have air brakes, you will get a restriction on your license stating that you are not licensed to operate a vehicle equipped with them.


  • CDL (valid for 4 years): $40
  • CDL instruction permit: $29
  • Replacement (duplicate) CDL or permit: $15
  • License upgrade: $25
  • Additional endorsements (after issuance of the CDL): $15 each
  • Knowledge (written) tests: $3 each
  • Skills test: $70 ($10 of the test will go to the driver's license office and $60 to the skills tester)

Hazmat Background Checks

Under the USA PATRIOT Act, commercial drivers transporting hazardous materials (hazmat) must pass a background records check and be fingerprinted. The Transportation Security Administration (TSA) is responsible for conducting the background checks for all commercial drivers with hazmat endorsements or who want to add hazmat endorsements to their licenses. The TSA developed this program to carry out the USA PATRIOT Act mandate and protect citizens from the potential threat of terrorists using hazmat cargo.

If the TSA disqualifies you because of your background, you can appeal their finding or seek a waiver. However, if you are found guilty of a disqualifying crime, you must declare any disqualifying conditions and surrender your hazmat endorsement (if you already have it) to your state's department of motor vehicles or other licensing agency.

Applying for a Hazardous Materials Background Check

After you get a CDL, apply for a background check from the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) if you'll be obtaining a hazardous materials endorsement. You may do this online or by contacting a TSA agent. They will ask for:

  • Your CDL or CDL permit number.
  • Proof of legal status.
  • Proof of Identity.

Next, the TSA will ask you to go to a fingerprint office to give your fingerprints. The TSA and the FBI will conduct background investigations. You will be responsible for various fees.

Disqualifying Crimes

Conviction of any of the following crimes will disqualify you from being eligible for a hazmat endorsement:

  • Terrorism
  • Murder
  • Assault with intent to murder
  • Espionage
  • Sedition
  • Kidnapping or hostage-taking
  • Treason
  • Rape or aggravated sexual abuse
  • Extortion
  • Robbery
  • Arson
  • Bribery
  • Smuggling
  • Immigration violations
  • RICO (Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act) violations
  • Unlawful possession, use, sale, distribution, or manufacture of an explosive device, firearm, or other weapon
  • Distribution of, intent to distribute, possession, or importation of a controlled substance
  • Dishonesty, fraud, or misrepresentation, including identity fraud
  • Crimes involving a severe transportation security incident
  • Improper transportation of a hazardous material
  • Conspiracy or attempt to commit any of these crimes

Remember that your state also has its own guidelines that may be stricter than the federal ones. For more information, consult your employer, the DMV, or the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Association.

New Federal Requirements

You must self-certify your type of vehicle operation with the Idaho DMV. This means you must self-certify one of the following driving categories:

  • Non-Excepted Interstate
  • Excepted Interstate
  • Non-Excepted Intrastate
  • Excepted Intrastate

If you choose Non-Excepted Interstate, you must provide the DMV with a federal medical certificate.

Related Content

Provide Feedback

Looking for Applying for a New CDL in Another State?