Safety Laws in Iowa
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
In Iowa, parents are required to make sure their children are properly restrained in a car seat when riding in a motor vehicle. The law states:
- A child under 1 year old who weighs less than 20 lbs. must be secured in a rear-facing child restraint system.
- A child under 6 years old must be secured in a safety seat or booster seat. A seat belt alone is not appropriate.
- Children ages 6-11 must be secured in a child restraint system or by a safety belt.
If you're in the market for one, you can shop online for a child car seat at any time. When ordering, be sure the car seat matches your child's height, weight and age.
To learn more about Iowa's car seat laws, you can download a free guide from the Department of Public Safety website.
Although Iowa has no laws regarding leaving children unattended in vehicles, this practice is highly discouraged. During the summer months, the temperature in a car can reach 125 degrees Fahrenheit in just 20 minutes, even if the windows are cracked. A young child may also accidentally put the car in motion, causing a potentially life threatening situation.
Drunk drivers are a serious public hazard. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), the following signs indicate a driver may be operating under the influence of alcohol:
- Weaving across the road
- Improper signaling
- Erratic braking
- Following too closely
- Drifting into opposing traffic
- Almost striking another vehicle or a stationary object
- Driving outside designated roadways
If you see a suspected drunk driver on the road, call 911. However, many highway patrol divisions also have their numbers posted on signs along the highway.
When reporting a suspected drunk driver, you'll be asked to give the exact location of the vehicle, a description of the vehicle including the license plate number, and a brief report of specific behaviors that indicate a potential problem.
Remember to use your headlights whenever you are having trouble seeing other vehicles on the road―this helps other drivers see you. This includes dusk, dawn, and during poor weather conditions.
Parking lights should not be confused with your car's headlights. Parking lights should be used for parked vehicles only.
Cell phone usage is illegal for all learner permit and intermediate license holders.
All drivers, regardless of age, are banned from texting.
Iowa is currently one of only 14 states with no state law regulating bicycle helmet usage and one of three states with no laws regarding motorcycle helmet usage. However, protective gear is highly recommended whenever you travel on Iowa roads.
Other Topics in This Section
- Traffic Alerts
- 511 Traffic Systems
- Tire Recalls
- Safety Laws
- How Emotions Affect Driving
- Driving in Hazardous Conditions
- Teen Drivers: A Beginner's Guide
- Seniors: When To Turn Over The Car Keys
- Packing Your First-Aid Kit
- Seven Senior Safety Suggestions
- Wildlife on the Road
- When to Call Wildlife Rescue
- Taking A Mature Driver Course
- Medications & Driving
- Night Driving
- Hallucinations on the Road
- How To Drive Distraction Free
- Treating Motion Sickness
- Road Rage: How To Deal With It
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.