DMV Point System in Iowa
Driving Record Points in Iowa
Your driving record is monitored by the Iowa Department of Transportation's Office of Driver Services in Des Moines. If you have too many accidents or traffic violations, the Office of Driver Services may choose to restrict or suspend your driving privileges. You may also face Iowa court/DMV fines, defensive driving requirements, and higher car insurance rates.
If you frequently travel out of state or you're a new Iowa resident, you need to remember that out-of-state convictions will also apply to your Iowa driving record.
On this page you'll find a general overview of the Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT) Office of Driver Services (ODS) driving record point system, and some of the common consequences you may face after accumulating too many points.
The Iowa DMV point system was developed to penalize drivers who have committed serious offenses, and to remove the most dangerous drivers from the road for the protection of others. You can be ruled as a Habitual Offender for 3 violations or more of any of these offenses in a period of 6 years. You can also be labeled a Habitual Offender if you commit 6 moving violations in 2 years. Points are added to your Iowa driving record as follows:
- Making a false statement to the Department of Public Safety: 2 points.
- Driving while your driver's license is suspended, denied, or revoked: 2 points.
- Driving after your IA driver's license has been revoked for an alcohol- or drug-related offense: 3 points.
- Driving while barred: 4 points.
- Driving while under the influence (DUI) of alcohol and/or drugs: 4 points.
- Committing an offense punishable as a felony under motor vehicle laws, or involvement in any felony in which a motor vehicle was used: 5 points.
- Leaving the scene of an accident or failing to offer help at an accident site: 5 points.
- Eluding or attempting to elude a law enforcement officer: 5 points.
- Causing serious injury with the operation of your vehicle: 5 points.
- Manslaughter resulting from the operation of your vehicle: 6 points.
Based on the number of driving record points you accumulate within 6 years, your IA driver's license will be barred for the following number of years:
- 6 to 7 points: 2 years.
- 8 to 9 points: 3 years.
- 10 to 12 points: 4 years.
- 13 to 15 points: 5 years.
- 16 points or more: 6 years.
Being barred as a habitual offender is very serious. If you are stopped while driving after your driver's license has been barred, you may be imprisoned for up to 2 years.
After losing your driving privileges, you will need to pass the written exam, driving test, and vision screening again to receive a new Iowa driver's license. You will also need to pay any appropriate fees and show proof of your financial responsibility.
You can order your Iowa driving record to check the status of your driver's license and obtain information about:
- The number of points you have accumulated.
- The types of traffic violations that you've been convicted of.
If you car insurance rates have increased after committing too many traffic violations, you may want to consider contacting your car insurance provider for options you may have to earn a discount and lower your costs.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!