Drivers Training in Iowa
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Did you know that teen drivers make up 7% of all licensed drivers but are responsible for 14% of traffic fatalities and 20% of all reported motor vehicle accidents? In fact, motor vehicle accidents are the leading cause of death for teenagers.
As with most things in life, safe driving requires a great deal of practice. Teenagers are more likely to be killed or seriously injured in auto crashes simply due to their inexperience. To help teens develop their driving skills, Iowa has driver training requirements that must be satisfied before an adolescent can receive his or her first driver's license.
According to Iowa law, you can receive an instruction permit at age 14. A teen with an instruction permit must then complete a minimum of 20 hours of supervised driving time before they can receive an intermediate license.
This driving time can be monitored by a parent, guardian, licensed immediate family member over the age of 21, or designated licensed adult 25 or older. Two hours of driving time must be completed between sunset and sunrise.
In addition to the supervised driving requirements, a teen with an instruction permit must also complete an approved Iowa driver education course offered by the local school district. This course includes six hours of lab time, three hours of which are required to be behind-the-wheel driving experience. Parents are not allowed to waive this portion of the course.
Under Iowa's graduated licensing system, teens age 16 and older who have completed the requirements of the instruction permit are eligible to receive an intermediate license that allows for unsupervised driving between 5 a.m. and 12:30 a.m.
Before becoming eligible to receive a full license at age 17, young drivers must complete an additional 10 hours of behind-the-wheel driving instruction, two hours of which must be between sunset and sunrise. This driving time can be supervised by a parent, guardian, licensed immediate family member over the age of 21, or designated licensed adult 25 or older.Driving Schools
Choose a County
- Black Hawk
- Buena Vista
- Cerro Gordo
- Des Moines
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Drivers Training Requirements: Do You Have to Enroll in Drivers Training?
- How to Choose a Drivers Training Program
- Who’s Required to Take Drivers Training
- What is Drivers Training?
- Graduating From a Drivers Permit to a Restricted Drivers License
- Learn the Difference Between Drivers Ed and Driver Training
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.