Suspended CDL in Hawaii
Commercial Driver’s License Suspensions in Hawaii
If your Hawaii commercial driver’s license (CDL) was disqualified, you’ll need to satisfy your disqualification requirements with your local DMV agency to have it reinstated.
- Honolulu County: Department of Customer Services.
- Hawaii County: Department of Finance.
- Kauai County: Treasury Division of Finance, Driver Licensing.
- Maui County: Department of Finance, Motor Vehicle Registration and Licensing Division.
On this page you’ll find information about your disqualification and how to reinstate your CDL.
The duration of your commercial driver’s license disqualification may vary depending on the reason for your suspension.
NOTE: If you were convicted of a crime, you may face court penalties and fines in addition to DMV disqualifications.
Your CDL and commercial driving privileges are subject to state and federal regulations, including disqualifications lasting:
- 1 year for a 1st violation of a major offense, such as:
- Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol and drug-related offenses.
- Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
- Hit and runs and leaving the scene of a truck accident.
- Involving your commercial vehicle in a felony.
- 3 years for a 1st violation of a major offense while transporting hazardous materials.
- A lifetime for a 2nd violation of a major offense.
- 60 – 120 days for multiple serious traffic violations within 3 years.
- 60 – 120 days for railroad highway grade crossing violations.
For more information on CDL traffic offenses that may lead to suspensions, visit the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration website.
NOTE: In Hawaii, your CDL can be disqualified if you drive a commercial vehicle with a BAC of 0.04% or higher.
By law, you must notify your employer:
- Within 30 days of receiving a conviction for a traffic offense.
- By the end of the next business day after receiving a disqualification notice, if your CDL is suspended, disqualified, revoked or cancelled.
For information about your specific suspension and reinstatement requirements, contact your Hawaii county DMV.
- Phone: (808) 532-7730.
- E-mail: email@example.com.
- Fax: (808) 768-3750.
City Square Driver License Section
Attn: Correspondence Desk
P.O. Box 30340
Honolulu, HI 96820
- Hilo: (808) 961-2222.
- Waimea: (808) 887-3087.
- West Hawaii: (808) 323-4800.
- Naalehu: (808) 854-7214.
- E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org.
- Phone: (808) 241-4256.
- Phone: (808) 270-7363.
- E-mail: email@example.com.
NOTE: Your CDL can also be disqualified for non-commercial vehicle violations. For more information, please see our Suspended License in Hawaii page.
Check Your Commercial Driver License Status
Traffic violations and accidents may lead to a disqualification of your CDL and points on your Hawaii driving record.
You can order your driving record to:
- Check your commercial driver’s license status.
- View details about your traffic offenses.
- Check actions taken against your CDL.
Order your Hawaii driving record today to see your driving history, including points, violations, and accidents that may lead to a CDL suspension.
Depending on your offense, you may be able to request an administrative hearing to contest your CDL disqualification.
You’ll need to contact your local Hawaii DMV for more information. (See phone numbers and e-mail addresses above.)
Hawaii DMV hearings have no effect on criminal proceedings. If you’d like to appeal a court-ordered suspension/revocation/disqualification, you must contact the court the served your suspension.
Get the legal help you need with your Hawaii commercial license suspension. Find a local attorney today.
Your reinstatement requirements will vary depending on the circumstances of your CDL disqualification and whether or not your non-commercial driving privileges have also been suspended/revoked.
If you were convicted of a crime, you may also face additional court penalties and fines.
To reinstate your CDL, you may need to:
- Satisfy any court requirements, if applicable.
- Retake and pass the commercial driving skills and knowledge tests.
- Complete an alcohol education/treatment program, if applicable.
- Reapply for a commercial driver’s license.
- Pay a reinstatement and commercial licensing fee. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your CDL in Hawaii” below.)
You may also need to visit your local HI DMV office and provide:
- Proof of your legal name and date of birth, with documents such as your:
- U.S. birth certificate.
- Valid U.S. passport.
- Military ID.
- Proof of your Social Security number (SSN), with documents such as your:
- Social Security card.
- State-issued photo ID.
- W-2 or 1099 form.
- Proof of your U.S. citizenship or authorized presence, with documents such as your:
- U.S. birth certificate.
- U.S. passport.
- Foreign passport and I-94.
For a complete list of acceptable documents, please see the Hawaii Department of Transportation website.
Honolulu County DUI/DWI & Insurance Violations
If you live in Honolulu County, you may have to follow different procedures to reinstate your CDL.
If your CDL was suspended/disqualified for a DUI/DWI or an operating under the influence offense, to reinstate your CDL, you may need to:
- Contact the Hawaii Administrative Revocation office at (808) 534-6800.
- Provide a certified copy of your re-licensing form.
- Provide a certified check or money order payable to “City & County of Honolulu” for your reinstatement fee. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your CDL in Hawaii” below.)
- Mail your re-licensing form and fee to:
City Square Driver Licensing Office
P.O. Box 30340
Honolulu, HI, 96820-0340
Your CDL reinstatement fees may vary depending on your offense. Below are general HI DMV fees that may apply to your situation.
- Reinstatement: $20.
- General CDL knowledge test: $15.
- Special CDL knowledge test: $5.
- Commercial driving skills test: $50.
- 2-year CDL (72 years old and up): $10.
- 4-year CDL (21-24 years old): $20.
- 8-year CDL (25-71 years old): $40.
- Duplicate CDL: $15.
NOTE: Fees may vary by county.
Contact your local Hawaii DMV office for information about your specific reinstatement fees and requirements.
Acceptable Forms of Payment
The Hawaii DMV accepts the following forms of payment:
- Money order.
- Cashier’s check.
NOTE: You cannot pay with a credit/debit card at this time.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!