Safety Laws in Hawaii
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
All riders 17 years old and younger must wear a helmet.
All riders 15 years old and younger must don a helmet.
Helmets are required for all riders 17 years old or younger.
If you're visiting, bring your Bluetooth for your cell phone.
- On Oahu (the island everyone first arrives on, where Honolulu is), you may not use a handheld cell phone or any other handheld electronic device while behind the wheel.
- Even holding a phone in your hands at a traffic light can get you a $67 ticket if there's a police officer next to you.
- This law applies to iPods, cameras, and any other electronic handheld device, too.
On January 1, 2010, the Big Island (Hawaii) will follow suit, issuing fines of up to $150 for not using a handsfree device. The other islands are expected to pass these laws as well.
- Daytime use is NOT required for motorcycles.
- There are no mandatory headlight laws for cars or trucks.
Hawaii does not employ a statewide DUI reporting net. If you suspect s driver of being drunk or unfit to be on the road, dial 911. Try to include the driver's license plate number and which direction he or she is headed.
A person can be be slapped with a second-degree misdemeanor for injuring a minor. But due to the law's vagueness, it is rarely used as a detriment against parents or guardians leaving children unattended in cars. Hawaii's state legislature has been debating tightening the screws on this law, but as of now lacks the strength of consensus.
If you suspect an unattended child is in danger, call 911 and remain with the vehicle until authorities arrive.
Hawaii does not possess a law against leaving pets unattended in cars. If you suspect a pet is in danger, dial 911 and remain with the vehicle until authorities arrive.
- All kids under the age of four must be secured in a Federally-approved child safety seat.
- All kids between the ages of four and seven must ride in either a booster seat or a car seat. Kids 4'9'' or taller or those riding in vehicles with lap-only seat belts in rear seats are exempt.
If you're in the market for one, you can shop online for a child car seat at any time. When ordering, be sure the car seat matches your child's height, weight and age.
If caught in violation you can be slugged with a stiff fine and be forced to attend a four-hour class.
The state allows a $25 tax break, per year, towards the purchase of a federally-approved child safety seat.
Other Topics in This Section
- Traffic Alerts
- 511 Traffic Systems
- Tire Recalls
- Safety Laws
- How Emotions Affect Driving
- Driving in Hazardous Conditions
- Teen Drivers: A Beginner's Guide
- Seniors: When To Turn Over The Car Keys
- Packing Your First-Aid Kit
- Seven Senior Safety Suggestions
- Wildlife on the Road
- When to Call Wildlife Rescue
- Taking A Mature Driver Course
- Medications & Driving
- Night Driving
- Hallucinations on the Road
- How To Drive Distraction Free
- Treating Motion Sickness
- Road Rage: How To Deal With It
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- California Bans Use of Cell Phone GPS While Driving
- Teen Driver Safety: Seat Belt Use
- Headlight Laws Vary Little Throughout the Nation
- Safety Laws On Children, Pets, and Vehicles
- Bicycle Safety Laws: Learn Your State’s Helmet Laws, Traffic Laws, and More
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.