Motorcycle Registration in Hawaii
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
Just like any other vehicle on the roads of Hawaii, a motorcycle or scooter must be registered. And even though most only have half the number the wheels of cars and trucks, the registration process is essentially the same.
Thus, you will need to have insurance. Most of the major players in the insurance industry with offices on the islands will provide coverage. And if you complete the Motorcycle Safety Education Program, you might get a 15% discount on your insurance rates.
Before you do make the decision to drop the cash for a new bike, consult with a few insurance companies to make sure that you can obtain the minimum levels of coverage required by the state.
The insurance factor is imperative and is the wild card with owning a motorcycle. No insurance means you will be unable to get the bike inspected. Without an inspection certificate, you can't register the bike in Hawaii.
The good news is that once your bike is insured, the registration will cost quite a bit less than it does for a car or truck. Considering that registration costs are based on weight, and bikes do not weigh that much in comparison to other vehicles, you may just see a flat fee each year. Check with your customer service rep for your exact fees.
Mopeds also need to be registered―but as bicycles. It's true. Considering most mopeds only offer about two horsepower, they are considered to be not all that different from pedal power. Well, they can usually top 30 mph―but some of those Ironman types can do that on a bicycle.
Most likely the size and the cost of a moped (more in line with a high-end bicycle than a car or motorcycle) is why the state chooses to go this route. Or the fact that like bicycles, mopeds are not allowed on highways and must use bike lanes.
You will still need to have the moped inspected like any other vehicle. But you do not need to have insurance to get the moped inspected or registered. The registration tag must be affixed to the rear fender. You must be at least 18 years old to register a moped. The fee is $15.
Only if you are under the age of 18 are you required by law to don protective head gear when riding a motorcycle. Some insurance companies may insist on you wearing a helmet to get preferential rates, though.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
- 5 Reasons to Welcome Big Brother Into Your Car
- Would Iron Man buy rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.