Drivers with Disabilities in Hawaii
Hawaii Drivers with Disabilities
Obtaining a disabled placard that allows you parking privileges in those convenient handicap spaces is a relatively easy process in Hawaii. However, you will need to meet some basic requirements to be able to hang one from the rearview mirror of your vehicle (or the vehicle of the person driving you around town).
Generally, if you can fit into one of the following categories, you will qualify:
- Cannot walk more than 200 feet without pausing to rest.
- Have a heart condition that affects your ability to walk far.
- Need mechanical assistance to walk.
- Have a respiratory illness.
- Need to carry portable oxygen.
The fines for parking in a reserved handicap parking space without a disabled placard or license plate are pretty steep in Hawaii. Abusing the placards or license plates by parking in such a space without a disabled person either driving or in the car will also net you a citation (and bad karma).
First-time applicants for a Hawaii handicap placard or license plates will need to make an appearance in person at one of the specific county offices located on each island. The same goes for those seeking a replacement placard due to it being lost, stolen, or damaged.
Before you visit a county office, a physician licensed to practice in the state of Hawaii must substantiate your impairment. This involves a trip to the doctor with the Person With a Disability Parking Permit Application (Form PA 2).
If you are incapacitated to the point where you cannot appear in person at a county office to apply, the doctor will need to also note this.
Once the doctor's visit is squared away, you will be just a county office visit away from having the placards. See below for a list of offices on each island. Make sure to bring along a completed application and proper proof of identity.
NOTE: If you opt to also apply for disabled Hawaii license plates (available to those with permanent disabilities only), you will need to make sure that your vehicle information is detailed on the application form.
Temporary Disability Placards
If you are applying for a temporary disability placard you will need to fill out the Person With a Disability Parking Permit Application (Form PA 2). A physician licensed in the state of Hawaii must fill out a portion of your application including his or her information, signature, and the date. You will need to bring this form to your county office. Temporary disability placards are valid for a maximum of 6 months.
All documents must be current.
- Hawaii driver's license.
- State ID card.
- Military ID card.
- Student ID card.
- Senior citizen ID card.
- ID of parent or guardian (if a minor).
- Social Security card.
- Medicare card.
- Appropriate notarized affidavit.
Many disabled folks worry that mainland states will not accept their Hawaii disability parking placard. However, a Hawaii placard is valid in other states as long as it is current and the disabled person is driving or is a passenger in the vehicle. Just make sure to bring along the actual placard and not a photocopy, and you are set. Also, Hawaii honors out-of-state placards that are current.Other Topics in This Section
Organ Donation Survey
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Smog Check
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸