Traffic Tickets in GeorgiaPage Overview
Continue reading this page to find out about tickets, fines and penalties in Georgia for regular drivers and commercial drivers, and what to do if you lost your traffic ticket.
In Georgia, your traffic ticket fine will be calculated based on:
- Where you received the ticket.
- The severity of your violation.
NOTE: Depending on your driving history, you may also need to pay additional surcharges.
The Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) may also add points to your driving record if you plead guilty.
For more information, visit our Traffic Ticket Fines & Penalties page.
NOTE: If you are convicted of enough traffic offenses and accumulate 15 points or more within 24 months, your GA driver’s license will be suspended.
To plead guilty to a traffic violation, you will simply need to pay your traffic ticket. The accepted payment methods will depend on the county you were ticketed in. You may be able to pay your fine:
- By phone.
- In person.
- By mail.
You can find more detailed information about how to pay your traffic ticket at our page about Paying Traffic Tickets.Pay Your Georgia Traffic Ticket Online
Many county courts within the State of Georgia will allow you to pay your traffic ticket instantly online. Select the court which issued your traffic ticket below and skip a trip to the traffic court.
If the Georgia issuing court is not listed above, follow the instructions on below.
Dismiss a Traffic Ticket
In some cases, you may be able to have your traffic ticket dismissed by completing a state approved traffic school.
NOTE: Completing traffic school will not remove violations from your GA driving record.
In Georgia, you can plead “not guilty” in traffic court and fight your ticket if you do not believe you were in violation of Georgia traffic law. Check your traffic ticket for instructions or contact your local GA county court directly.
For more information, please see our page about Fighting a Traffic Ticket in Georgia.
NOTE: If you plan to contest your traffic ticket, you might want to consider speaking to a Georgia traffic ticket attorney to help your case.
There is currently no online ticket search service in Georgia. If you’ve lost your ticket, you will need to contact the traffic court in the county you received your citation.
You may not need to request another copy of your ticket. The county clerk should be able to provide all the instructions you need to either fight the ticket or pay the fine.
If you hold a Georgia commercial driver’s license (CDL), you must notify your employer within 30 days of conviction, regardless what type of vehicle you were driving at the time.
Depending on your offense, your GA commercial driver’s license may be suspended for 1 year, or even longer for more serious violations.
For more information on how traffic violations can affect your Georgia CDL, visit our following pages:
If you are ticketed for any of the following serious traffic violations in Georgia, you could face heavier traffic ticket fines and penalties:
- Driving under the influence of drugs/alcohol (DUI).
- Refusing a chemical test.
- Hit and run.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
For more information about Georgia traffic tickets, visit our Traffic Ticket FAQ page. Topics include:
Other Topics in This Section
- Penalties for a minor with a learner’s permit.
- Hiring a traffic ticket attorney.
- How to dismiss a traffic ticket.