Traffic Ticket FAQ in Georgia
- What do I do if get a traffic ticket in Georgia?
- How can I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
- What if I have a GA CDL and get a traffic ticket?
- What if I am younger than 21 years old and get a DUI ticket?
- What if I'm younger than 18 years old and get convicted of a traffic violation?
- Will taking a motorcycle safety course help me with a traffic ticket I got while riding?
- Can I take a defensive driving course to reduce the number of driver's license points on my driving record?
- Why is it a good idea to order a driving record?
- What is the cost of my traffic ticket?
- How many points will I get if convicted?
- Are traffic ticket fines the same throughout the state?
- How can I find a lost traffic ticket online?
- When is it a good idea to hire a traffic ticket attorney?
- How many driving record points can I accumulate before the state suspends my driver's license?
What do I do if get a traffic ticket in Georgia?
Typically, you can plead guilty and pay your fine, or plead not guilty and fight the ticket in court.
Pleading guilty and paying your fine is the most convenient option for some drivers, even though it does involve certain penalties like point accumulation and increased auto insurance rates.
Pleading not guilty and fighting your ticket in court requires a hearing, preparations for that hearing, and sometimes hiring an attorney; if you win, though, the charges are dropped and you face no penalties.
NOTE: Check to see if your citation indicates that you must appear in court. Some do.
How can I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
Georgia doesn't dismiss traffic tickets for taking Defensive Driving or Driver Improvement courses, but if you fight your ticket in court and win, the ticket is dismissed.
What if I have a GA CDL and get a traffic ticket?
Within 30 days of conviction, you must let your employer know of the ticket.
Note that GA CDL drivers face harsh penalties for some traffic violationsâ€•some are even harsh enough to end their careers.
Before making your decision, refer to our Traffic Ticket Fines and Penalties section to learn more about CDL traffic ticket penalties.
What if I am younger than 21 years old and get a DUI ticket?
For a BAC under 0.08%, you'll lose your license for 6 months. For a BAC of 0.08% or higher, you'll lose your license for 12 months.
A second DUI conviction carries a suspension of 18 months and an ignition interlock systemâ€•that you must have installed.
Learn more about penalties for drivers younger than 21 years old.
What if I'm younger than 18 years old and get convicted of a traffic violation?
First, understand that if you have a learner's permit and get a traffic violation, you can't move on to the next phase. The period of 12 months leading up to the next phase must be violation free.
Second, if you accumulate 4 points in a period of 12 months, your license will be suspended. Some traffic violations are 4 points or more all by themselves. These include violations like reckless driving, aggressive driving, and speeding 24 to 33 MPH over the speed limit.
Chapter Six of the Georgia Driver’s Manual fully explains teen driver penalties.
Will taking a motorcycle safety course help me with a traffic ticket I got while riding?
No. Typically, the courts don't offer any kind of driving courses as ways to dismiss or satisfy a ticket.
Can I take a defensive driving course to reduce the number of driver's license points on my driving record?
Yes. Georgia allows drivers to take state-approved Defensive Driving or Driver Improvement courses for point reduction. You can only take the course every 5 years, which will remove up to 7 points from your license.
Why is it a good idea to order a driving record?
There are a few great reasons why you should order a copy of your driving record.
You can make sure:
- You didn't receive any points you weren't supposed to (after you plead or are found guilty).
- You didn't receive any points (after you are found not guilty).
- The DDS removed the applicable points after you completed a Driver Improvement course.
Head over to our GA Driving Records section to learn how to obtain a copy of your record.
What is the cost of my traffic ticket?
The total cost of your traffic ticket varies by:
- Violation. Some traffic ticket fines are higher than others.
- Location. Courts set their own fines and court costs.
- Penalties. Some drivers have to pay extra fines (such as the Super Speeder fine) or attend courses (such as for DUI-related offenses), and this adds to your overall costs.
Start out by checking your ticket for the fine; then, contact your court for information about additional charges.
How many points will I get if convicted?
Points vary by violation. They range from 1 point to 6 points, and if you're convicted of more than a single violation, you'll receive points for each violation (unless your attorney works out a plea agreement).
Note that some violations don't carry points. For example, if you're convicted of speeding less than 15 MPH over the limit, you won't get points.
Visit our GA Point System for more information.
Are traffic ticket fines the same throughout the state?
No. They vary by court.
How can I find a lost traffic ticket online?
You can't; Georgia doesn't provide the option. You can't get the information from the DDS, either. Only courts can look up lost traffic ticket information.
Visit our Lost DE Traffic Tickets page for more information.
When is it a good idea to hire a traffic ticket attorney?
Typically, drivers hire traffic ticket attorneys when they decide to fight their tickets in court.
A traffic ticket lawyer can help you:
- Prepare your case.
- Provide testimony, if you're not comfortable speaking in court.
- Show evidence and examine witnesses.
- Examine the ticketing officer.
- Negotiate a plea agreement.
- File an appeal if you're found guilty.
How many driving record points can I accumulate before the state suspends my driver's license?
Point-related license suspensions depend on the driver's age.
If you are:
- Younger than 18 years old, your license is suspended 4 points within 12 months.
- 21 years old, your license is suspended for committing any violation worth 4 points.
- Adults, your license is suspended for 15 points in 24 months.
Distracted driving is on the same scale as drunk driving. You wouldn’t drive drunk, so why drive distracted?
Take the pledge — end distracted driving.