Traffic Schools in Georgia
Georgia's Department of Driver Services regulates the defensive driving and traffic schools within the state.
The six-hour classroom courses must be taken through one of the state-approved schools and must not cost more than $75. Behind-the-wheel instruction is not a requirement for this program.
Points Reduction and Ticket Dismissal
State law allows you to take one defensive driving course every five years for a points reduction on your driving record.
Using a Georgia defensive driving course for ticket dismissal, however, is up to the individual courts and is based on your conviction and driving record. The court overseeing your violation will let you know whether ticket dismissal through a defensive driving course is an option for you.
Lower Your insurance Premiums
A defensive driving class could possibly lower your insurance premiums, but each insurance company has different policies so check with yours to determine if you qualify for a discount. Also, compare the amount of the discount to the cost of the course; sometimes you may save money, other times you may not.
If your driver's license has been suspended or revoked for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI), Georgia law requires you to complete a DUI course through a state-approved school. The DDS provides a detailed list of DUI schools for you to choose.
DUI School Procedures and Fees
Before enrolling in the DUI school, you will be required to take an assessment test at the cost of $75. Then, after you complete the assessment, you must enroll in the 20-hour course, at a cost of $205 (this includes a $15 fee for books). These fees are set by the state, and are not negotiable.
You must also arrive on time; if you are late, you must forfeit your fees, and reapply for another course.
The Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) is required for all drivers under the age of 18. The one-hour sessions are taught at public and private schools throughout the state, usually during ninth grade.
If you are schooled at home, missed the sessions, or you failed the test at the end of the program, you can take a "make-up" course to meet this requirement to obtain your license. Check with your local Department of Driver Services (DDS) to find a course near you.Local Traffic Schools
Choose a County
- Ben Hill
- Jeff Davis
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.