Suspended License in Georgia
The Department of Driver Services (DDS) that issued your driver’s license can also take it away for bad driving―through cancellation, suspension, or revocation―at any time.
You can find out whether your license is in good standing when you consult the DDS or check your driving record (also called a driving history or an MVR).
Check Your Driving Record
You can check your MVR both with the DDS and with third-party vendors.
- Order Driving Record Online
Visit Driving Records to learn how both individuals and businesses can order driving records online.
- Order Driving Record In Person
- Obtain an original, signed agreement authorizing you to order a copy of the MVR. Whether you’re ordering the MVR for yourself or another driver, a Request for Motor Vehicle Report (MVR) will satisfy this requirement.
- Be ready to provide your (or the driver’s) full name, date of birth, and driver’s license number.
- If you’re obtaining an MVR for another driver, be prepared to show proof of identification.
- Have the appropriate fee ($6 for a three-year record; $8 for a seven-year record).
- Bring everything to your nearest Driver’s License Customer Service Center.
- Order Driving Record By Mail
- Download and complete a Request for Motor Vehicle Report (MVR). If you’re ordering the MVR for another driver, make sure to obtain his signature.
- Have the appropriate payment ($6 for a three-year record; $8 for a seven-year record) in the form of a money order, cashier’s check, or company check to the “Department of Driver Services.”
- Prepare a self-addressed, stamped envelope.
- Mail everything to:
- Georgia Department of Driver Services
- MVR Unit
- P. O. Box 80447
- Conyers, GA 30013
Suspended in All States?
Thanks to the National Driver Register (NDR), it’s highly unlikely you’ll be able to get a new license in any state if you already have a license suspension in another state. The NDR is a database that receives and stores information regarding license suspensions and revocations, as well as serious traffic violations such as driving under the influence (DUI).
If you’re new to this state and what to get a license here, keep in mind the DDS will request either a valid out-of-state license (or one that’s expired for no more than two years), or a letter of clearance or certified driving record from your old state. So, even if you happened to slide under the NDR radar, it’s unlikely you’ll be able to slide under the state’s.
The Driver License Compact (DLC) works nearly the same way, but for non-residents. If a non-resident commits a traffic violation outside his home state, officials in his home state will receive information about the violation and take action.
In some cases, driving on a suspended license may get you six more months of suspension; however, penalties may vary according to the reason for suspension.
In lieu of finding out the hard way, call the DDS at the telephone number for your area to learn about the specific penalties for driving on a suspended license.
Contact an Attorney
If you’re caught driving on a suspended license, you may want to seek the legal advice of an attorney experienced with such situations.
You may be eligible for a nonrenewable, limited driving permit (sometimes called a “hardship license”) if your license is suspended for certain types of convictions. This permit allows you restricted driving permissions such as:
- Driving to and from work.
- Getting prescribed medical attention.
- Attending classes or college where you are enrolled.
- Attending a court-ordered treatment program or driver's education.
- Driving to an Ignition Interlock Center.
Keep in mind the DDS can place any type of additional restriction on these permits that it deems necessary. These restrictions might include the time of day you may drive, places you may drive, and even the specific vehicles you’re allowed to operate.
If you need more help with restricted licenses, contact an attorney.
You may be eligible to get your license reinstated after the specified time passes and you meet certain requirements. For example, license suspensions due to DUI and controlled substance-related matters generally require you to pay fines, complete a DDS-approved Drug Use Risk Reduction Program, and wait a certain period of time.
Once you've satisfied all requirements, there are a couple of ways to start the process for reinstating your license.
You can apply in person at one of the DDS Customer Service Centers that offers reinstatement services (it’s wise to call ahead and make sure the one you want to visit actually does offer the service).
Or, you can request a reinstatement in writing. Include your:
- Full name, as listed on your driver’s license.
- Driver’s license number.
- Date of birth.
- Mailing address.
Mail your request to:
- Department of Driver Services
- P. O. Box 80447
- Conyers, GA 30013
If you have any questions about reinstating your license―including the requirements you must meet to do so― call the DDS at the telephone number for your area. You may also want to consult an attorney experienced with situations like yours.
Remember, license suspensions sometimes result in increased insurance rates or canceled policies. If this happens to you, shop around for a new policy or one with lower rates at our Insurance Center.
The DDS can suspend, revoke, or cancel your license for a variety of reasons, and it’s best to check out its page about license suspensions and revocations, and then call the DDS at the telephone number for your area with any questions.
In the meantime, below are just a few of the misbehaviors you should avoid to keep your driving record clean―and your driving privileges intact.
Accumulating 15 or more points within a 24-month period can result in license suspension. This includes accumulating points in other states. There are a variety of reasons for accumulating points―from speeding and reckless driving to ignoring child restraint laws and failing to secure a load―so make sure you thoroughly understand the state’s point system.
Driving Like You Have No Sense
Fleeing from officers, committing a felony with your vehicle (including vehicular homicide), racing, leaving the scene of an accident―these are just a few of the instances that show the state you have no business behind the wheel of a vehicle.
Dealing with Drugs and Alcohol
Drugs and alcohol are grounds for license suspension, whether you’re caught driving under the influence or in possession of a controlled substance or marijuana. This also includes being convicted of manufacturing, cultivating, distributing, and selling controlled substances, as well as refusing to take a chemical test.
Failing to Appear in Court
Failing to appear in court or respond to a citation can result in license suspension.
License, Registration, and Insurance Problems
You can get a license suspension if you’re caught using your license or application in a fraudulent or fictitious way, as well as if you fail to maintain car insurance, or you drive on a suspended, revoked, or canceled vehicle registration.
Misbehaving Under the Age of 21
All the same infractions as above apply to you if you’re under the age of 21; however, there’s a slight difference in points accumulation.
You can get your license suspended if you’re:
- Under 21 and commit an offense worth four points.
- Under 18 and accumulate four points within a 12-month period.
Too, purchasing alcohol or misrepresenting your age or identity in order to purchase alcohol can result in a license suspension.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Order Driving Record Online
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.