Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Suspended CDL in Georgia

    CDL Suspension in Georgia

    Drivers with commercial driver’s licenses (CDLs) are subject to both:

    • Federal regulations set by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA).
    • The Georgia state traffic laws that apply to all drivers.

    When you have a CDL and commit traffic violations, not only do you face suspension of your driver’s license, but you can also be disqualified from having a CDL.

    Your CDL can be disqualified even if you are driving your personal car when you commit a violation.

    CDL holders face driver’s license CDL disqualifications for several kinds of violations, including:

    • Traffic violations.
    • Out-of-service order violations.
    • Railroad crossing violations.
    • DUI / DWI.
    • Accumulation of driver’s license points.

    Read below to learn more about CDL disqualification and driver’s license suspensions.

    About Your Suspended CDL in GA

    Your CDL can be suspended for many different reasons.

    The duration of a suspension depends on the reason your CDL was suspended. It is usually longer if you have prior offenses.

    Types of CDL Suspensions

    The Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) will suspend your CDL privileges for:

    • Multiple serious traffic violations, such as:
      • Excessive speeding.
      • Reckless driving.
      • Failing to have your CDL with you when driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV).
    • Major traffic violations, such as:
      • Hit-and-run in any vehicle.
      • Racing in any vehicle.
      • Negligent CMV operation resulting in a fatality.
    • Railroad crossing violations, such as failing to:
      • Stop when tracks aren’t clear or before driving onto the crossing.
      • Slow down to check that railroad tracks are clear.
      • Cross because of insufficient undercarriage clearance.
    • Out-of-service order violations; specifically, failing to take required breaks or rest periods.
    • Failure to appear in court.
    • Failure to show proof of insurance.

    Your CDL will also be suspended for driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI). Please see our “DUI / DWI Suspensions in GA” section below.

    Notifications

    If your CDL is suspended, revoked, or canceled, you are required to notify your employer within 2 business days.

    If you are convicted of a traffic violation (except parking violations), you must notify:

    • Your employer within 30 days.
    • The GA DDS within 30 days if you are convicted outside of GA.

    Length of CDL Suspensions

    The duration of your suspension is based on the type of violation and number of violations you have accumulated:

    • Serious traffic violations:
      • 2 violations within 3 years: at least 60 days.
      • 3 violations or more: at least 120 days.
    • Major traffic violations:
      • 1st offense: 1 year.
      • 3 years if transporting hazardous materials.
      • 2nd offense: Lifetime suspension.
    • Railroad crossing violations:
      • 1st offense: at least 60 days.
      • 2nd offense within 3 years: at least 120 days.
      • 3rd offense within 3 years: at least 1 year.
    • Out-of-service order violations:
      • 1st offense: at least 180 days.
      • 2nd offense: at least 2 years.
      • 3rd offense (and subsequent violations): at least 3 years.

    Finally, the DDS will suspend your license for failing to appear in court or failing to pay child support. These suspensions last until the issue is resolved and the DDS is notified of the resolution.

    NOTE: You may also face other penalties assessed by the court.

    Georgia Point System

    If you are convicted of a traffic violation, whether in your CMV or a non-commercial, you may have points assessed against your license. You can have your CDL suspended for violation points accumulated against your non-commercial driver’s license.

    In addition to suspensions for specific violations, your non-commercial Georgia driver license will also be suspended by the DPS if you accumulate 15 points within 24 months.

    The number of points your receive depend on the violation. Some examples of violations and the points they carry are:

    Violation Points
    Illegally passing a school bus 6 points
    Aggressive driving 6 points
    Reckless driving 4 points
    Moving violations 3 points
    Failure to secure a load 2 points
    Driving while text messaging 1 point
    Speeding (varies based on MPH over the speed limit 2 points to 6 points

    Driver's license points appear on your Georgia driving record.

    DMV.org Tip: Check Your CDL Status

    Have you accumulated too many driving record points? Check your driving record status to make sure your CDL isn't suspended.

    Points Reduction

    You can request a reduction of up to 7 points every 5 years by completing a defensive driving course approved by the Georgia DDS.

    To request a point reduction, you must mail your defensive driving course certificate of completion to:

    Georgia Department of Driver Services
    P.O. Box 80447
    Conyers, GA 30013

    Alternatively, you can reduce your fine and avoid points by completing an approved defensive driving course before your court date and presenting the certificate of completion in court. You can use this option only once every 5 years.

    DUI / DWI CDL Suspensions in Georgia

    Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) results in CDL disqualification.

    You will be disqualified from having a CDL for:

    • Driving a CMV with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.04% or higher.
    • Driving any vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
    • Refusing to take a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.

    You will lose your CDL for:

    • At least 1 year for a 1st offense.
      • At least 3 years if transporting hazardous materials.
    • For life for a 2nd offense.

    In addition, if you are caught driving a CMV with a detectable BAC of less than 0.04%, you will be required to be out of service for 24 hours.

    NOTE: These penalties do NOT include criminal sentencing, which may carry additional suspensions, fines, and/or jail time.

    Suspension Hearings and Appeals

    If the DDS suspends or appeals your license, you have the right to appeal the suspension.

    The appeal is ONLY meant to determine if your driver’s license was suspended legally.

    You must request an appeal in writing within 10 days of the date the suspension becomes effective. If you are appealing a suspension for DUI or for refusing a BAC test, you must include a $150 filing fee.

    Driving with a Suspended CDL

    If you drive with a suspended CDL, your license will be suspended for:

    • At least 1 year for your 1st offense.
      • At least 3 years if transporting hazardous materials.
      OR
    • For life for a 2nd offense of a major traffic violation, such as:
      • Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
      • Refusing to take an alcohol test.
      • Hit-and-run.
      • Racing.
      • Negligent CMV operation resulting in a fatality.

    Reinstate Your Georgia CDL

    You will have to pay a fee to reinstate your Georgia CDL.

    The fee to reinstate your license is determined by the reason your CDL was suspended. See our “Reinstatement Fees” section below for more information.

    In addition to a reinstatement fee, you may also be required to:

    • Reapply for your CDL and retake licensing tests.
    • Complete an approved DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program (RRP).

    GA License Reinstatement Fees

    While the DDS doesn’t specify CDL reinstatement fees, often your CDL is suspended when your non-commercial driver’s license is also suspended. Reinstatement fees are based on the reason your license was suspended. Some common fees for non-commercial reinstatement include:

    Offense Reinstatement Fee (by mail) Reinstatement Fee (in person)
    DUI (1st offense for 21 years old or older) $200 $210
    Failure to pay child support $25 $35
    Failure to show proof of insurance (1st offense) $200 $210
    Failure to show proof of insurance (2nd offense) $300 $310
    Points violation (1st offense) $200 $210
    Points violation (2nd offense) $300 $310
    Points violation (3rd offense) $400 $410

    There are other reasons your license may have been suspended, for which your fee may differ from those listed above. You may also have to pay additional fines and fees for your commercial license suspension.

    Please contact the Georgia DDS or your local court to determine what fees are assessed for your commercial license reinstatement. For further information about non-commercial license fees and payment methods, visit our page on Suspended Licenses in Georgia.

    NOTE: In addition to a reinstatement fee, you may also have to pay:

    • State and/or federal fines.
    • Court fees.
    • Course fees.
    • Testing fees.
    • Application fees.

    Georgia Hardship License

    A hardship license, also called a limited driving permit in Georgia, allows suspended drivers to drive for specific reasons, including:

    • Work or school.
    • Medical appointments.
    • Treatment programs, driver’s education, or court hearings.

    A hardship license does NOT allow you to drive a CMV. You may only operate a non-commercial vehicle.

    Limited driving permits are ONLY available to drivers suspended for certain violations. Please visit the DDS Drivers Manualfor a complete list of eligible violations for a limited driving permit.

    Restricted licenses are issued at the discretion of the DDS. Call the DDS at 678-413-8400 for more information.

    Compare Commercial Insurance Rates in 3 Steps

    1. Enter Your Zip: