Safety Laws in Georgia
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Wearing a helmet is mandatory.
- All riders under the age of 16 must wear a helmet.
- When transporting kids ages four and under, you must securely seat them in a child passenger bicycle seat, or a bicycle trailer, or an infant sling.
- When riding at night, your bike must be equipped with a white light that's visible from 300 feet away.
- You cannot carry any package that prevents you from having at least one hand on the handlebars.
All drivers under age 18 are banned from cell phone use.
School bus drivers cannot use a cell phone while loading and unloading passengers, nor while the bus is in motion.
All drivers, regardless of age, are banned from texting while behind the wheel.
Headlights must be on a half hour after sunset to a half hour before sunrise. Headlights must also be on when it is raining and when visibility is reduced to under 500 feet.
Dial 911 if you notice a driver behaving erratically behind the wheel. When you call, be ready to provide a car description, license plate number, and the direction of the vehicle.
At this time, Georgia lawmakers are proposing a bill that would make it illegal to leave any child six years old and younger unattended in a car. If you suspect an unattended child is in trouble, dial 911 and remain at the car until authorities arrive.
There are no laws against leaving an unattended pet inside a vehicle. If you suspect a pet may be in danger, dial 911 and remain with vehicle in question until help arrives.
- Children under the age of eight must ride in an approved safety seat or booster that is suited for their height and weight.
- Children eight years of age or younger must ride in the back seat. If the back seat is occupied by other passengers your child may ride in the front seat, provided he or she is secured in a booster or child safety seat.
- Kids between the ages of eight and 16 must wear a seat belt.
- Any child over 4'9' may use a seat belt in lieu of a booster seat.
- Kids not requiring child seats may ride in front, provided he or she is older than six years old.
If you're in the market for one, you can shop online for a child car seat at any time. When ordering, be sure the car seat matches your child's height, weight and age.
Other Topics in This Section
- Traffic Alerts
- 511 Traffic Systems
- Tire Recalls
- Safety Laws
- How Emotions Affect Driving
- Driving in Hazardous Conditions
- Teen Drivers: A Beginner's Guide
- Seniors: When To Turn Over The Car Keys
- Packing Your First-Aid Kit
- Seven Senior Safety Suggestions
- Wildlife on the Road
- When to Call Wildlife Rescue
- Taking A Mature Driver Course
- Medications & Driving
- Night Driving
- Hallucinations on the Road
- How To Drive Distraction Free
- Treating Motion Sickness
- Road Rage: How To Deal With It
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.