Registration Renewal in GeorgiaPage Overview
The Georgia Department of Revenue (DOR) requires Georgians to renew their vehicle registration every year. Failing to do so may result in fees and fines.
Registering for the First Time in Georgia
If you have just moved to GA or are registering a vehicle in the state for the first time, visit our Registration Section for assistance.
There are three types of registration renewal periods in the state, which vary depending on the county in which you register your vehicle.
- Car or truck―In most counties, but not all (see below), if you own a passenger car, truck, or motorcycle, you will have 30 days to renew your registration by your birthday.
- For business-owned or -leased vehicles, the registration period depends on the first alphabet letter of the business name that appears on the registration:
4 Month Non-Staggered Registration
The following counties have a 4 month, non-staggered registration period, allowing registration for individuals and businesses between January 1st to April 30th only: Calhoun, Clay, Randolph, Stewart and Turner.
4 Month Staggered Registration (Talbot County Only)
If you live in Talbot County and need to renew your tags, the county offers four registration periods, with your registration period dependent on your birth month:
- Birth month of January, February, or March―renew January 1st to 31st
- Birth month of April, May, or June―renew February 1st to 28th
- Birth month of July, August, or September―renew March 1st to 31st
- Birth month of October, November, or December―renew April 1st to 30th
Company-Owned Vehicles in Talbot County
For Talbot County businesses, the county provides four registration periods, which are dependent on the first letter of the name listed on the registration:
Depending on your county, you may receive a renewal notice several weeks prior to your birthday, indicating:
- Your registration's expiration date
- Renewal fee
- Emissions inspection information, if applicable
- Your online Renewal Identification Number (RIN), if you live in a county that allows online renewals
Didn’t Get a Renewal Notice?
Even if you don’t receive a renewal notice, you still must register by the deadline or risk being penalized. If you did not receive one, contact your local DOR office.
If you move, be sure to update your new address with the DOR. Otherwise, you risk not receiving future registration renewal notices.
Renew in Person
Visit your local DOR tag office with:
- Either your registration renewal notice or a completed Title/Tag Application(Form MV-1)
- Your driver's license or GA ID card
- Proof of passing a smog check, if applicable
- Proof of auto insurance
- Cash, check, or money order to cover registration fees (some offices do accept credit cards; call before visiting)
Renew by Mail
To renew your registration by mail, send in the following:
- Your registration renewal notice or a completed Title/Tag Application (Form MV-1)
- Proof of car insurance, if noted on your renewal notice
- Proof of passing an emissions inspection, if applicable
- Check or money order made payable to the Department of Revenue (see fees below)
Mail documents and payment to:
- Motor Vehicle Division
- 4125 Welcome All Road
- Atlanta, GA 30374
Renew Online (if allowed by your county)
Some counties offer online registration renewals. Those that participate will send you a Renewal Identification Number ( RIN) with your renewal notice. Before you renew, however, you must meet the following registration requirements:
- You have proof of passing an emissions test (if applicable)
- The address listed on your renewal notice is correct
- You have a credit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, AMEX) or checking account to pay all renewal fees. An additional online convenience fee will be charged.
To renew online, visit the state’s online renewal system and:
- Choose your county
- Enter the RIN found on your renewal notice
- Pay all related renewal fees
Your new registration will arrive in the mail within 5 business days.
Expect to pay two types of fees when renewing:
- A Tag Fee is based on the type of vehicle you own (e.g. passenger car or truck, heavy truck, commercial vehicle, etc.).
- Ad valorem tax is based on your vehicle's value, which is a combination of the vehicle's wholesale and market values.
Expect to pay more if you own specialized license plates.
Late Fees and Penalties
If you’re late in renewing your registration, you will be saddled with the following late fees in addition to the standard renewal fees:
- A 10% ad valorem tax due based on your vehicle's value
- 25% of the tag fees
Georgia Tax Deduction
According to Chapter 22 of Publication 17, the IRS allows you to deduct the ad valorem tax (vehicle value) off your income taxes. This is the portion that’s based on your car’s value.
Depending on your county, your vehicle may need to pass a smog check before it can be registered. If in doubt, check your registration renewal notice or contact your county Tag Office.
Visit our Emissions Inspection Section for more information on testing requirements and procedures.
In order to renew your registration tags, your vehicle must be covered under the state’s minimum requirements for liability insurance. In fact, if you allow your insurance coverage to lapse at any time, the state will suspend your registration until proof of coverage is provided.
Don’t risk having your registration revoked. Check out our Georgia insurance section for more information on state minimums and providers.Other Topics in This Section