Point Reduction in Georgia
Georgia offers defensive driving or driver improvement courses (the state uses the terms interchangeably; they’re the same courses) for point reduction.
For point reduction, you can take a course every 5 years to have up to 7 points removed from your driving record.
You can choose from among several classroom courses; online driving courses aren’t options at this time.
NOTE: You can use these same courses for possible auto insurance discounts and driver reinstatement requirements not related to DUI charges.
For more information, please visit our Defensive Driving in Georgia page.
No Dismissed Traffic Tickets
Although it’s always up to the judge’s discretion, taking a driver improvement course is not a standard option for ticket dismissal in Georgia.
Risk Reduction Courses
The DUI, Alcohol, or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program courses are different from defensive driving and driver improvement courses.
A judge will require you to complete this course if you are convicted of:
- Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs.
- Boating under the influence (BUI) of alcohol or drugs.
- Possession of illegal drugs.
- Possession of alcohol while driving (for underage drivers).
Learn more about DUI-related offenses and penalties.
Your driving course will last 6 hours, and cost up to $95. Once you complete the course, you’ll receive a certificate of completion to provide the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) (see below).
Keep in mind that course providers are independent; they are not DDS or state employees. As such:
- Refunds are up to the course provider.
- If you’re late, the course instructor can prevent you from entering the classroom.
Still, if you have any complaints about your provider or instructor, you can use an official Program Complaint Form (Form RC-550).Other Topics in This Section