Motorcycle Registration in Georgia
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
Motorcycles are registered, titled, and tagged in Georgia just like cars and trucks. You'll first need a Georgia driver's license before you can register your bike, so if you are new to the state, visit the local driver's license office first, then visit your county Tax Commissioner's Tag Office for a Georgia tag and title.
You'll need the following paperwork to apply for a motorcycle registration and title:
- Georgia driver's license or ID card.
- A completed Tag/Title Application.
- Valid title, manufacturer's certificate of origin, or registration papers showing you own the motorcycle.
- Proof of insurance. Liability insurance is required in the state of Georgia.
- Proof of Georgia residency (utility bill, pay stub with address, letterhead signed by your employer).
- A Certificate of Inspection completed by any law enforcement officer or tag agent.
- Appropriate fees and taxes―these vary by county (see below).
Emissions tests are not required for motorcycles.
You will need to pay the following fees when registering your motorcycle:
- Annual registration/tag fee of $20.
- Ad valorem tax based on the value of your motorcycle. This online calculator will figure your tax.
- Sales tax.
- Title fee of $18; additional penalties of $10 are assessed for late registrations.
All fees are payable in cash, check, or money order at your local Tax Commissioner's Tag Office. Some counties also accept payment by credit card.
Georgia has three registration periods. Most counties have open registration year-round; some have a four-month registration period from January 1-April 30. Talbot County's registration period is a staggered system throughout the year, depending on the birthday of the motorcycle owner listed on the title and registration.
For the majority of the counties, with the year-round registration you must register or renew your vehicles during the 30-day period prior to your birthday, with registration ending at midnight on that day.
If you live in one of the four-month registration counties, you can register or renew your tag any time from January 1-April 30 each year.
Talbot County residents must register or renew tags on the following system:
If the motorcycle owner's birthday falls in:
- January, February, or March: Register January 1-31.
- April, May, or June: Register February 1-28 (during leap years, registration ends on February 29).
- July, August, or September: Register March 1-31.
- October, November, or December: Register April 1-30.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.