Motorcycle License in Georgia
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
Georgia residents must be at least 17 years old―and have parental consent― to apply for a Class M motorcycle license with the Department of Driver Services. All motor-driven vehicles (excluding tractors and mopeds) that are designed to operate on three wheels or less are considered motorcycles. Mopeds have a separate set of rules, specified below.
Instruction permits are valid for six months, and you need only pass the written portion of the test to get one. This $10 permit is not required before obtaining the Class M license, when the driving test will be given. These instructional permits carry the following restrictions:
- Minimum age of 17, and parental consent if under 18
- Daylight driving hours only
- No passengers
- No limited-access highways
- Must use safety equipment required by law
You must furnish the motorcycle for the skills portion of the test, and it must pass a safety inspection before the skills exam will be given. You can study for the written portion of the test using the motorcycle manual available online or at your local driver's license office.
A Class M license costs $20 for a 5 years license and $32 for an eight-year license. If this is your first license, you'll need to bring along the same documentation required for applying for a regular license when you apply.
Mopeds are regulated a bit differently in Georgia. They are defined as motor-driven vehicles that will not exceed 30 mph and do not require clutching or shifting. A license tag is not required on a moped.
You are allowed to drive a moped at 15 of age with a learner's permit, or older with a driver's license, instructional permit, or limited permit. A motorcycle helmet is required, and all traffic laws must be obeyed. Mopeds are not permitted on limited-access highways or roadways where the minimum speed is greater than 35mph―this includes interstates.
The Basic Rider Course provides eight hours of classroom training and seven hours of hands-on driving training. Students are taught how to operate the motorcycle under safe conditions, how to maneuver in traffic, and how to handle emergencies. Parents or guardians of drivers under 18 must appear at the first class to sign permission forms or the student will not be allowed to participate.
Motorcycles will be provided for this class, and if you do not have a helmet, one will be provided also.
By successfully completing this course you qualify to waive the written and road tests given at the driver's license office and will be issued a Class M endorsement on your license when you provide the necessary paperwork to the driver's license office.
The cost of the Basic Rider Course is $250 for Georgia residents and $300 for nonresidents.
The Experienced Rider Course provides approximately five hours of classroom training and four hours of hands-on training. You must provide your own motorcycle and be licensed and insured to take this course.
The cost of the Experience Rider Course is $150 for Georgia residents and $200 for nonresidents.
The following gear is needed for both courses and must be worn at every riding session:
- An approved helmet with eye protection (face shield, goggles, etc.)
- Full-fingered gloves (preferably leather)
- Over-the-ankle boots (high-top tennis shoes or athletic-style shoes are not allowed)
- A long-sleeved shirt or jacket
- Long pants (no holes and not torn)
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Chrysler Caves, Recalls 2.7 Million Jeep Grand Cherokees and Liberty SUVs
- Chrysler Cold Shoulders Government’s Recall Request
- Driver Signs: A Zodiac Guide to Your Road Habits
- Say Hello to Tougher Texting-While-Driving Penalties, New York!
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting