License Plates & Placards in Georgia
Keep reading for more information about license plates and tags in Georgia, including application forms, the cost of GA license plates, and other details.
You must have a GA license plate if you live in the state and operate a vehicle on Georgia's roads. License plates are required for:
- Passenger vehicles.
- Other vehicles, such as large trucks and recreational vehicles (RVs).
License plates are issued by the Georgia Department of Revenue (DOR) tag offices.
Your license plate number is actually a combination of letters and numbers. It will also have the following decals:
- One listing the county where your car is registered.
- One showing the month and year that your registration expires.
The state issues standard license plates as well as vanity plates and special interest plates.
Temporary tags are issued by car dealers when you buy a car.
These temporary license plates are valid for 30 days and allow you to operate your vehicle on GA roads until you register and title it.
You must register your car with the GA DOR before your temporary tag expires.
If your car dealer doesn't provide you with the vehicle's manufacture certificate or title within 25 days, you can apply for a temporary tag extension from your local GA DOR office.
You apply for a license plate when you register your car at a GA tag office.
To register your vehicle, you will need:
- A completed Motor Vehicle Title/Tag Application (Form MV-1).
- Payment for your vehicle registration fees:
- License plate fees:
- $20 for passenger vehicles.
- $20 for motorcycles.
- $12 for trailers.
- Ad valorem tax, which varies by vehicle and county.
- License plate fees:
- A form of identification.
- Proof of insurance.
- Your vehicle title or manufacturer certificate of origin.
Our GA car registration page has more details about registration applications, requirements, and fees.
Your GA license plate will have a decal in the lower, right corner showing the date and year your registration expires.
Before the expiration date, you should receive a registration renewal notice by mail. You can renew your registration:
- Online (in some counties).
- By mail.
- In person.
NOTE: Be sure the GA DOR has your correct address so you don't miss any renewal notices! If you have moved, you must update your address.
Once you've renewed your registration, you will get a new decal to put on your license plate, showing that your registration is up to date.
For more information about registration renewal, including fees and other requirements, see our GA registration renewal page.
If your license plates or decals are lost, stolen, or damaged, you can order duplicates from the GA DOR.
To order replacement license plate or decals, you will need to:
- File a police report with your local law enforcement agency.
- Apply for a replacement in person from the GA DOR.
To replace your license plates or decals, the GA DOR requires:
- The Application for Replacement License Plate (Tag) and/or Decal (Form MV-7).
- A copy of the police report.
- The damaged plate or decal, if applicable.
- The $8 replacement fee by:
- Check or money order payable to “Department of Revenue."
If you didn't receive your original plate from the GA DOR, you should apply for a replacement plate within 90 days. In addition:
- Include the Affidavit of Non-Receipt of an Original License Plate/Renewal Decal (Form T-200).
- You DO NOT have to pay the $8 fee.
In Georgia, the license plate on your car belongs to you. This means you can keep or transfer plates to a new car when you sell your current car.
In rare circumstances, the law may require you to surrender your license plate.
Transfer a License Plate
If you sell or trade your car, you can transfer your GA license plate to your next vehicle IF the vehicles are the same type. For example, you can transfer a plate:
- From a passenger car to another passenger car.
- From a motorcycle to another motorcycle.
For a license plate transfer, you'll need to:
- Submit the title and registration paperwork in person at a Georgia tag office within 30 days.
- Pay a $5 license plate transfer fee in addition to other title and registration fees.
NOTE: If your registration renewal is due, you must also include required renewal documents and fees.
For more information about transferring your license plate, see our Georgia car buyers page.
Surrender a License Plate
If you move to another state, you DO NOT have to surrender your license plate to the GA DOR.
You may be required to surrender your plates or the DOR may take them from you for certain moving violations, vehicle abandonment, or vehicle repossession.
There are several fees associated with GA license plates:
- New license plates:
- Passenger vehicle: $20.
- Motorcycle: $20.
- Trailer: $12.
- Permanent trailer plate: $48.
- License plate renewal: Varies by vehicle type and county.
- Replacement license plate or decal: $8.
- License plate transfer fee: $5.
Georgia offers a variety of specialty license plates for your vehicle. The extensive list of sample plates includes college and government, as well as special interest plates. Click on the tag you're interested in to find out the costs involved and the documents you'll need in order to apply for one of these specialty tags. If you decide to order one and want to have it personalized, you'll need to submit a completed Personal Special Prestige License Plate Application (Form MV-9B). Military plates will require you to submit a Request for Manufacture of a Special Veteran License Plate (Form MV-9W).
GA Prestige Plates
Some call them vanity plates, and some call them personalized plates―but Georgia calls custom license plates "prestige" plates. To apply for one of these, you must complete a Personal Special Prestige License Plate Application (Form MV-9B) requesting different choices for your vehicle (you will receive the first one that is available). The application spells out which letter and number combinations may be used.
Requests for obscene, profane, or defamatory tags will be denied, as will requests for tags already in existence.
In addition to the ad valorem tax on your vehicle, each year you will need to pay a $35 special tag fee and a $20 registration fee. You'll also need to pay a $25 manufacturing fee the first time you order the tag.
Model Year Plates
If you wish to display the Georgia plate coinciding with the vehicle's model year, you'll have to complete anAffidavit of Ownership Authentic Historical License Plate (Form T-224), and the vehicle must be from 1970 or earlier. Take the form to a county tag agent office, where a visual inspection on the vehicle must be completed.
Remember to keep the current tags in the vehicle at all times, along with the affidavit.
Use this form to apply to use an authentic historical GA license plate on your historical vehicle.
Complete this form to replace a lost, stolen, or damaged license plate or disability parking decal.
Order a personalized (vanity) license plate with this form.
Complete and submit this form to order a military veteran license plate.
Use this form for most vehicle title & registration transactions, including original applications, renewals, replacements, and changes.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!
heroes have registered as organ donors.