Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements in Georgia
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
If you’re a Georgia resident who owns or leases a motorcycle, you must register and establish financial responsibility for the motorcycle.
Ways to Establish Financial Responsibility
The state requires you to establish financial responsibility for your motorcycle so you’re financially able to cover the cost of any accidents in which your motorcycle is involved.
You can establish financial responsibility in one of two ways:
- Purchase traditional liability coverage from an auto insurance carrier licensed with the Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner.
- Self-insure through the Office of insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner. Please note this might not be an option for you. Please call (800) 656-2298 to find out if it is, and what steps you need to take to self-insure.
Two-Wheeled Vehicles Defined
You can call the Department of Revenue’s Motor Vehicle Division at (404) 968-3800 if you have questions about the definitions of two-wheeled vehicles and whether you need to register and insure yours.
- Motorcycle―Your two-wheeled vehicle is a motorcycle and you must register and insure it if:
- It was manufactured for legal highway use.
- It can exceed 30 mph.
- It has an engine of 50 cc or more.
- It has more than two horsepower.
- Moped/Scooter―In this state, mopeds and scooters aren’t always as clear cut. If your moped or scooter:
- Meets the above motorcycle criteria―but is clearly not a motorcycle―you must register and insure it if you plan to operate it on state roads.
- Doesn’t meet the above motorcycle criteria, you don’t have to register or insure it―unless you plan to operate it on state roads.*
*Please contact the DOR to find out whether your moped or scooter is allowed on state roads.
Purchasing liability insurance is probably the most common way to meet the state’s financial responsibility requirements. If you choose this route, make sure your insurance policy includes at least:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury to two or more people
- $25,000 per accident for property damage
Please note that your insurance carrier will know the exact amount of coverage you must have for your motorcycle―it might end up being more or less than listed above. You might also want to browse the additional types of coverage available with insurance policies to make sure you’re fully protected.
How Coverage Affects Helmet Requirements
Whether you’re operating the motorcycle or you’re just a passenger, you must wear a helmet. How much liability coverage you purchase or self-insurance you provide doesn’t affect this law.
Your insurance carrier must electronically submit information about your insurance policy to a statewide database. This helps the state know you’re meeting the financial responsibility requirements, and you can even keep up with your insurance status online.
Having proof of insurance with you at all times safeguards you in the event the MVD hasn’t yet received a record of your coverage or a law enforcement officer pulls you over.
The state requires insurance carriers to issue policyholders these cards. If you purchased a traditional insurance policy, this card won’t act as a sufficient proof of insurance; however, you still must keep it with you at all times.
If this is your first time purchasing insurance for your motorcycle, your carrier will issue you an insurance binder. This binder acts as proof of insurance for 30 days― the time period during which the MVD is awaiting an electronic record of your coverage.
Bill of Sale/Declaration Page
Together, the bill of sale and insurance declaration page act as proof of insurance if you’ve just purchased the motorcycle and are waiting for the MVD to receive an electronic record of your coverage.
If you have the option of self-insuring your motorcycle, the Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner will issue you a self-insured insurance information card and a certificate of self-insurance. Keep these documents with you at all times.
Depending on the offense number, you could face some pretty stiff penalties if the MVD catches you with no proof of insurance, such as:
- Up to six months of registration suspension.
- A $25 lapse fee and a registration reinstatement fee of up to $160.
- Misdemeanor charges if you operate your motorcycle before paying your fees and reinstating your registration.
If you think you’re exempt from maintaining financial responsibility, check out what the MVD has to say. If you have additional questions, or need more information about your specific fees and registration reinstatement process, contact the MVD at (404) 968-3800.
In This Section
Other Topics in This Section
- Auto Insurance Requirements
Georgia car insurance information center. What insurance to buy in Georgia, how to decide, compare policies, purchase GA car insurance.
- Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements
GA financial responsibility requirements for your moped, atv, scooter or motorcycle. Protect your bike and your liability in Georgia by purchasing motorcycle insurance.
- Commercial Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements
Commercial vehicle insurance requirements in GA. Protect your rig or your fleet by maintaining proper financial responsibility on your commercial vehicles in Georgia.
- Penalties For Driving Without Insurance
Learn More On Penalties For Driving Without Insurance In Your State. No Insurance Violations Vary By State. Avoid Allowing You Car Insurance Policy To Lapse.
Insurance Resource Center
- Auto Insurance Policy Basics
- Top Reasons To Buy Insurance Coverage
- Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements
- Buying Car Insurance Basics
- Buying Car Insurance For Teens
- Teen Guide To Car Insurance
- How To Get Car Insurance Coverage With A Learners Permit
- First Time Drivers Guide To Car Insurance
- How To Save Money On Teen Car Insurance
- Common Driving Mistakes Teens Make
- Safe Driving Tips For Teenage Drivers
- Safe Cars For Teen Drivers
- How To Add Teens To Your Auto Insurance Policy
- Tips for Car Insurance Policy Holders
- Types Of Auto Insurance Coverage
- Buying Car Insurance For Seniors
- Senior Guide To Car Insurance
- Extended Insurance Coverage Guide
- How To Get The Most Out Of Your Auto Insurance Coverage
- When To Buy Rental Car Insurance
- How To Cover Vandalism Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Auto Theft Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Windshield Repair Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Accidents With Wildlife Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Lost Wages Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Medical Expenses Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Pet Injuries Through Car Insurance
- How To Avoid Auto Insurance Non Renewal
- Commercial Auto Insurance Requirements
- Commercial Auto Insurance State Requirements
- Federal Motor Carrier Insurance
- CDL Federal Requirements
- Commercial Insurance Filing
- State Commercial Insurance Filings
- Federal Truck Filings
- Intrastate Truck Filings
- Interstate Transportation Filings
- Certificate Of Insurance
- Uniform Carrier Registration Plan
- Types Of Commercial Auto Insurance
- Commercial Vehicle Insurance Discounts
- Multiple Policy Discount For Commercial Vehicles
- Paid In Full Commercial Vehicle Insurance Discount
- Commercial Business Experience Discount
- Commercial Auto Insurance Quotes
- Commercial Auto Insurance Articles
- Who Needs Commercial Auto Insurance
- Types Of Commercial Vehicles To Insure
- How To Save Money On Commercial Auto Insurance
- What You Need For A Commercial Insurance Quote
- Types Of Business Vehicle Insurance
- How To Compare Commercial Insurance Quotes
- How To Get The Most Out Of Your Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage
- Types Of Commercial Trailers To Insure
- Online Commercial Auto Insurance
- Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements
- Types Of Motorcycle Coverage
- Accessory Coverage For Motorcycles
- Comprehensive Physical Damage Insurance For Motorcycles
- Collision Insurance For Motorcycles
- Bodily Injury Liability Insurance For Motorcycles
- Property Damage Liability Insurance For Motorcycles
- Medical Payments Insurance For Motorcycle Riders
- Personal Injury Protection Insurance For Motorcyclists
- Uninsured Motorist Coverage For Motorcyclists
- Underinsured Motorist Coverage For Motorcyclists
- Motorcycle Roadside Assistance
- Motorcycle Insurance Quotes
- Motorcycle Insurance Rates
- Motorcycle Insurance Discounts
- Online Motorcycle Insurance
- Motorcycle Insurance Articles
- Motocross Insurance
- Dirt Bike Insurance
- Moped Insurance
- Trike Insurance
- Scooter Insurance
- Auto Insurance Deductible
- Auto Insurance Limit
- Auto Insurance Premium
- Auto Insurance Quote
- Auto Insurance Rates
- Motor Vehicle Report
- Proof Of Financial Responsibility
- Auto Insurance Endorsement
- Auto Insurance Exclusion
- Auto Insurance Rating
- Auto Insurance Code
- Auto Insurance Discounts
- Auto Insurance Glossary
- How To Obtain Proof Of Insurance
- How To Change Auto Insurance Providers
- Factors That Affect Insurance Rates
- How To Cancel An Auto Insurance Policy
- When An Accident Happens
- Accident Loss
- Auto Accident Payment Recovery
- Total Loss
- Proof of Loss
- Actual Cash Value
- Lost Wages
- Salvage Vehicles
- How To File An Accident Report With The Police
- Evaluating Personal Injury In Auto Accidents
- First Steps Following A Personal Injury Auto Accident
- When To Seek Medical Attention For Personal Injury
- Protection Against Auto Insurance Fraud
- How To Handle Staged Car Accidents
- Types of Insurance Claims
- Bodily Injury Claims
- Property Damage Claims
- Windshield Claims
- Third Party Insurance Claims
- About Car Insurance Claims
- How Car Insurance Claims Affect Your Auto Insurance Policy
- When To Cover Personal Injury With Auto Insurance
- How Much Personal Injury Protection To Buy
- Supplementing Health Insurance With Personal Injury Protection
- Pain And Suffering In Personal Injury Claims
- Statute Of Limitations And Personal Injury
- Negligence And Determining Legal Liability
- Auto Insurance Claim Settlements
- Auto Insurance Settlements Involving Personal Injury
- Proving Fault In An Auto Accident Personal Injury Case
- Compensation For Auto Accident Personal Injury Claims
- Tips For Settling A Motor Vehicle Accident Claim
- Factors That Affect Compensation In Personal Injury Claims
- Legal Representation For Insurance Claims
- When To Hire A Personal Injury Attorney
- When To Hire A Lawyer
- Personal Injury Attorney Fees
- How To Choose Personal Injury Lawyers
- Benefits of Hiring A Personal Injury Attorney
- What To Submit To A Personal Injury Attorney
- Processing Car Insurance Claims
- How Car Insurance Companies Handle Claims
- How Car Insurance Companies Investigate Accident Claims
- How To Document Auto Accident Damage
- When To Report An Auto Accident To The DMV
- Tips On Documenting Personal Injury Expenses
- Paying Medical Bills Before Receiving Personal Injury Compensation
- Wage Loss In Personal Injury Auto Accident Cases
- How To File A Loss Of Wages Auto Claim
- Stages Of A Personal Injury Case
- Filing Car Insurance Claims
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.