Behind the Wheel in Georgia
DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver
Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It's like having the answers before you take the test.
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
- Just print and go to the DMV
- Driver's License, Motorcycle, and CDL
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Purchase a DMV Written Test Cheat Sheet
Georgia Behind-the-Wheel Training
If you're a teenager applying for your first driver's license with the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS), you'll need to satisfy the requirements of Teenage & Adult Driver Responsibility Act (TADRA).
The Act requires you complete the graduated driver's license (GDL) program, which includes completion of behind-the-wheel supervised driving practice.
Your behind-the-wheel requirements will allow you to gain valuable driving experience and develop the skills necessary to pass your driving test.
On this page you'll find information about your driving practice requirements and the steps you need to take to get your first driver's license.
If you are younger than 18 years old, you'll need to complete at least 40 hours of supervised driving practice while you hold your instructional permit.
If you want to obtain your provisional/intermediate license when you are between under 17 years old, you must also complete a Georgia Driver's Ed course, which includes driving training.
You can begin the GDL program when you are at least 15 years old by applying for your instructional permit and enrolling in a driver's training course.
For more information, please visit our pages on those topics:
Behind-the-wheel driver's training is required if you are younger than 17 years old and are applying for your provisional driver's license.
To satisfy the requirement, you must first obtain your instructional permit. Once you have your permit, you can enroll in a Driver's Ed program, which will include at least 30 hours of classroom training and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training with a driving instructor.
Generally, you'll begin the in-car instruction after you complete the classroom component of your program.
For a complete list of approved driver’s training schools, please visit the Georgia DMV website.
NOTE: The driver's training component of Driver's Ed can also be satisfied through the Parent Supervised on the Road Program. Download and read the 40-Hour Parent/Teen Driving Guide for more information.
Contact the Georgia Department of Driver Services at (678) 413-8400 with any questions.
During the learner's permit stage of the GDL program, you can ONLY drive if a licensed adult who is at least 21 years old supervises you.
Before advancing from your learner's permit to your intermediate driver's license, you'll need to complete at least 40 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel practice with at least 6 hours completed at night.
Your parent/legal guardian will need to sign your application, verifying you have completed this requirement.
You'll be eligible to take your driving test and apply for your provisional driver's license when you:
- Are at least 16 years old (17 years old if you have not completed Driver's Ed/driver's training).
- Have held your learner's permit for at least 12 months and haven't committed any major traffic violations.
- Have completed your behind-the-wheel supervised driving practice.
For more information, please visit our Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in Georgia page.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!
heroes have registered as organ donors.