Drivers Ed in Georgia
DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver
Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It's like having the answers before you take the test.
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
- Just print and go to the DMV
- Driver's License, Motorcycle, and CDL
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Purchase a DMV Written Test Cheat Sheet
Driver's Education in Georgia
Georgia driver's education consists of both classroom or online driving instruction and behind-the-wheel training. It is required if you want to get your provisional driver's license (Class D) when you turn 16 years old.
If you do not complete Driver's Ed, you will have to wait until you are 17 years old to get your Georgia provisional driver's license.
Car insurance discounts may be available for teen drivers who complete driver's education. Learn more about Driver's Ed and other insurance discounts.
Joshua's Law & Driver's Education
Joshua's Law was created to ensure that teenage drivers become smarter and safer drivers. The law requires teens 16 years old to complete:
- A state-approved Driver's Ed course.
- 40 hours of practice driving (including 6 hours at night).
If you are 17 years old or older, the law doesn't require you to complete Driver's Ed, but you must still complete the 40 hours of practice driving.
Georgia Driver's Ed Eligibility Requirements
To take GA Driver's Ed, you'll need to start by getting your learner's permit. You must:
- Be at least 15 years old.
- Pass a written test.
For more information on how to apply, visit our Driver Permits in Georgia page.
Once you have your learner's permit, you can enroll in a Georgia Driver's Ed course approved by the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS).
You can also begin practicing driving with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old.
Worried about the written permit exam? Improve your knowledge and prepare with a practice test.
New Georgia Residents
If you took Driver's Ed in another state, you do not have to complete it again in Georgia, as long as your driving course is approved by the GA DDS. You will have to show proof that you successfully completed the course.
If you are a military dependent who is 16 years old or older contact the DDS at (866) 754-3687 to find out what requirements you may need to fulfill before transferring an out of state license or permit.
About Your Georgia Driver's Ed Course
Georgia Driver's Ed is divided into 2 parts – theory/instruction and practice.
You must complete:
- 30 hours of theory, either in the classroom or online.
- 6 hours behind-the-wheel training with an approved instructor OR complete the 40-Hour Parent/Teen Driver Guide.
Your course curriculum will include topics such as:
- Vehicle safety.
- Hazard prevention methods.
- Georgia traffic laws and road rules.
Types of Driver's Ed Courses
Georgia Driver's Ed courses are offered at a variety of times, days, and locations. They are offered:
- At private driving schools.
- At your high school or college.
The DDS provides a searchable list of approved driving schools on its website.
Depending on where you take your Georgia Driver's Ed course, fees will vary. Check with your driving school for information about costs, including whether your parent can get tax credits for all or part of the program cost.
Tax credits are not available for Driver's Ed courses completed at high schools or online.
After Driver's Ed – Your Georgia Driver's License
Once you have completed all of your Driver's Ed while on your GA learner's permit, you can apply for your intermediate driver's license. You must:
- Be at least 16 years old.
- Have had your GA learner's permit for at least 12 months.
- 40 hours of supervised driving with a licensed driver 21 years old or older (including 6 hours at night).
- Complete an Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP).
- Pass a vision exam and road skills test.
For more information on how to apply for your Georgia provisional driver's license and what documents you need to bring, visit our Applying for a New License (Teen Driver) in Georgia page.
Distracted driving is on the same scale as drunk driving. You wouldn’t drive drunk, so why drive distracted?
Take the pledge — end distracted driving.