Car Insurance in Georgia
1. FAST 2. COMPARE 3. $AVE Fill out a quote form about you and your vehicles Instantly get free quotes from top car insurance companies Choose from the lowest rate policies and save hundreds
Enter your Zip Code below to get a Free Quote. We suggest getting quotes from multiple companies to ensure you get the best rate. There is no obligation to purchase.
- Official Website of Liberty Mutual Insurance
- Providing Insurance Since 1912
- See How Much YOU Could Be Saving!
Georgia Car Insurance
Georgia is a rare state that requires you to have car insurance, but does not require that you show your insurance card as your proof of insurance.
Learn more about Georgia’s auto insurance requirements, options for additional coverage, programs, rates, and discounts.
In Georgia, you are required to have liability insurance to help pay for injuries or damages you might cause to someone else as a result of a car accident. You’ll need to have proof of this insurance in order to register your car in GA.
Your Georgia car insurance policy must have the following minimum coverage amounts:
- Bodily injury liability:
- $25,000 per person.
- $50,000 for multiple people in an accident.
- Property damage liability:
- $25,000 for one incident.
Optional Car Insurance
Most companies that offer insurance in Georgia also offer additional coverage. When comparing car insurance quotes, ask about the following optional types of insurance:
- Collision – This coverage will pay for damages to your car due to traffic accidents.
- Comprehensive – This coverage will pay for non collision-related damages to your vehicle, such as damages incurred due to vandalism.
- Medical and funeral services.
- Uninsured drivers.
- Rental car.
NOTE: While Georgia law does not require you to purchase collision and comprehensive insurance, your finance company or bank will require you to have these coverage types if you are paying a loan or lease on your car.
Georgia Proof of Insurance
In Georgia, a car insurance ID card cannot be accepted as your proof of insurance. Instead, all government agencies, including law enforcement officers performing a traffic stop, can check the Georgia Electronic Insurance Compliance System (GEICS) to electronically verify that you have valid car insurance.
It is your car insurance carrier’s responsibility to report your car insurance status to the GEICS database.
Make sure that you check your card to make sure all your information is correct. If the information is not correct on your card, it is probably incorrect with the GEICS. This can lead to problems verifying your insurance.
If you notice wrong information, contact your car insurance carrier to make sure any misinformation is fixed.
Also remember that your car insurance card still needs to be carried in case of an accident so you can exchange information with the other driver(s).
Driving Without Car Insurance
Through GEICS and the Georgia Registration and Title Information System (GRATIS), the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) will be informed of any change in your car insurance status.
If your car insurance is canceled and you do not replace it, the DDS will send you a notice to comply with Georgia’s car insurance laws, and the possible penalties you will face if you don’t. Such penalties include fines and driver’s license suspensions.
You will not be able to register your car or renew your car’s registration in Georgia if GEICS shows that you do not currently hold an auto insurance policy.
Driver’s License Suspensions
If your GA driver’s license is suspended because you didn’t have car insurance, you can get your license reinstated after your first offense by:
- Waiting until your driver’s license has been suspended for a minimum of 60 days.
- Purchasing at least the minimum auto insurance coverage required in GA.
- Paying a reinstatement fee of:
- $200 by mail to:
Department of Driver Services (DDS)
Post Office Box 80447
Conyers, Georgia 30013
- $210 in person at your local DDS office.
- $200 by mail to:
To have your driver’s license reinstated after your second offense of not holding the required insurance, you must:
- Wait for your driver’s license to be suspended for at least 90 days.
- Purchase car insurance and have your car insurance carrier file a Georgia Safety Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22A).
- Pay a reinstatement fee of:
- $300 by mail (use the address above).
- $310 in person at your local DDS office.
As of September 2013, you cannot pay your driver’s license reinstatement fees online if your driver’s license was suspended because you didn’t have car insurance.
Car Insurance Rates in Georgia
Car insurance rates vary by individual.
Georgia car insurance companies will factor in the following to determine your car insurance rates:
- Your driving record.
- Your car insurance claim history.
- The make and model of your car.
- Your age.
- Your gender.
- Your marital status.
- Your credit history.
The simplest way to keep your car insurance rates low is by driving safely and obeying all traffic laws.
Car Insurance Discounts
While Georgia does not have any state-mandated car insurance discounts, most insurance companies offer the following discount types:
- Good driver discount.
- Good student discount.
- Multiple-car discount.
You may also qualify for a discount on your car insurance premium if you complete a DDS-approved defensive driver course. Contact your insurance carrier to find out if they offer this discount and to get more details on eligibility.
Car Insurance Fraud in Georgia
Insurance fraud is very costly to insurance companies, and those costs trickle down to you, raising your policy rates.
Car insurance fraud could involve:
- Faking an injury after getting into an accident.
- Staging car accidents.
- Giving false personal information to your insurance carrier.
- Overcharging for treatment, if you’re a medical professional.
If you know of or suspect insurance fraud, you can report it by calling the Consumer Services Division of Georgia’s Office of Commissioner of Insurance at:
- (404) 656-2070.
- (800) 656-2298 (toll-free).
By reporting suspected fraud, you can actually save money by helping insurance companies maintain low-cost premiums.Choose a State:
Local Auto Insurance
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
Choose a County
- Ben Hill
- Jeff Davis
- Shop For Insurance Online
- Insurance State Requirements
Auto Insurance Center
- Auto Insurance Policy Basics
- Top Reasons To Buy Insurance Coverage
- Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements
- Buying Car Insurance Basics
- Buying Car Insurance For Teens
- Teen Guide To Car Insurance
- How To Get Car Insurance Coverage With A Learners Permit
- First Time Drivers Guide To Car Insurance
- How To Save Money On Teen Car Insurance
- Common Driving Mistakes Teens Make
- Safe Driving Tips For Teenage Drivers
- Safe Cars For Teen Drivers
- How To Add Teens To Your Auto Insurance Policy
- Tips for Car Insurance Policy Holders
- Types Of Auto Insurance Coverage
- Buying Car Insurance For Seniors
- Senior Guide To Car Insurance
- Extended Insurance Coverage Guide
- How To Get The Most Out Of Your Auto Insurance Coverage
- When To Buy Rental Car Insurance
- How To Cover Vandalism Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Auto Theft Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Windshield Repair Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Accidents With Wildlife Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Lost Wages Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Medical Expenses Through Car Insurance
- How To Cover Pet Injuries Through Car Insurance
- How To Avoid Auto Insurance Non Renewal
Commercial Auto Insurance
- Commercial Auto Insurance Requirements
- Commercial Auto Insurance State Requirements
- Federal Motor Carrier Insurance
- CDL Federal Requirements
- Commercial Insurance Filing
- State Commercial Insurance Filings
- Federal Truck Filings
- Intrastate Truck Filings
- Interstate Transportation Filings
- Certificate Of Insurance
- Uniform Carrier Registration Plan
- Types Of Commercial Auto Insurance
- Commercial Vehicle Insurance Discounts
- Multiple Policy Discount For Commercial Vehicles
- Paid In Full Commercial Vehicle Insurance Discount
- Commercial Business Experience Discount
- Commercial Auto Insurance Quotes
- Commercial Auto Insurance Articles
- Who Needs Commercial Auto Insurance
- Types Of Commercial Vehicles To Insure
- How To Save Money On Commercial Auto Insurance
- What You Need For A Commercial Insurance Quote
- Types Of Business Vehicle Insurance
- How To Compare Commercial Insurance Quotes
- How To Get The Most Out Of Your Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage
- Types Of Commercial Trailers To Insure
- Online Commercial Auto Insurance
- Motorcycle Insurance Minimum Requirements
- Types Of Motorcycle Coverage
- Accessory Coverage For Motorcycles
- Comprehensive Physical Damage Insurance For Motorcycles
- Collision Insurance For Motorcycles
- Bodily Injury Liability Insurance For Motorcycles
- Property Damage Liability Insurance For Motorcycles
- Medical Payments Insurance For Motorcycle Riders
- Personal Injury Protection Insurance For Motorcyclists
- Uninsured Motorist Coverage For Motorcyclists
- Underinsured Motorist Coverage For Motorcyclists
- Motorcycle Roadside Assistance
- Motorcycle Insurance Quotes
- Motorcycle Insurance Rates
- Motorcycle Insurance Discounts
- Online Motorcycle Insurance
- Motorcycle Insurance Articles
- Motocross Insurance
- Dirt Bike Insurance
- Moped Insurance
- Trike Insurance
- Scooter Insurance
Auto Insurance Policy Basics
- Auto Insurance Deductible
- Auto Insurance Limit
- Auto Insurance Premium
- Auto Insurance Quote
- Auto Insurance Rates
- Motor Vehicle Report
- Proof Of Financial Responsibility
- Auto Insurance Endorsement
- Auto Insurance Exclusion
- Auto Insurance Rating
- Auto Insurance Code
- Auto Insurance Discounts
- Auto Insurance Glossary
- How To Obtain Proof Of Insurance
- How To Change Auto Insurance Providers
- Factors That Affect Insurance Rates
- How To Cancel An Auto Insurance Policy
- When An Accident Happens
- Accident Loss
- Auto Accident Payment Recovery
- Total Loss
- Proof of Loss
- Actual Cash Value
- Lost Wages
- Salvage Vehicles
- How To File An Accident Report With The Police
- Evaluating Personal Injury In Auto Accidents
- First Steps Following A Personal Injury Auto Accident
- When To Seek Medical Attention For Personal Injury
- Protection Against Auto Insurance Fraud
- How To Handle Staged Car Accidents
- Types of Insurance Claims
- Bodily Injury Claims
- Property Damage Claims
- Windshield Claims
- Third Party Insurance Claims
- About Car Insurance Claims
- How Car Insurance Claims Affect Your Auto Insurance Policy
- When To Cover Personal Injury With Auto Insurance
- How Much Personal Injury Protection To Buy
- Supplementing Health Insurance With Personal Injury Protection
- Pain And Suffering In Personal Injury Claims
- Statute Of Limitations And Personal Injury
- Negligence And Determining Legal Liability
- Auto Insurance Claim Settlements
- Auto Insurance Settlements Involving Personal Injury
- Proving Fault In An Auto Accident Personal Injury Case
- Compensation For Auto Accident Personal Injury Claims
- Tips For Settling A Motor Vehicle Accident Claim
- Factors That Affect Compensation In Personal Injury Claims
- Legal Representation For Insurance Claims
- When To Hire A Personal Injury Attorney
- When To Hire A Lawyer
- Personal Injury Attorney Fees
- How To Choose Personal Injury Lawyers
- Benefits of Hiring A Personal Injury Attorney
- What To Submit To A Personal Injury Attorney
- Processing Car Insurance Claims
- How Car Insurance Companies Handle Claims
- How Car Insurance Companies Investigate Accident Claims
- How To Document Auto Accident Damage
- When To Report An Auto Accident To The DMV
- Tips On Documenting Personal Injury Expenses
- Paying Medical Bills Before Receiving Personal Injury Compensation
- Wage Loss In Personal Injury Auto Accident Cases
- How To File A Loss Of Wages Auto Claim
- Stages Of A Personal Injury Case
- Filing Car Insurance Claims