State Regulations in Georgia
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
When buying a new or used vehicle, research all makes and models before deciding on the car to buy. Determine which body style you want and need for your lifestyle, taste, and budget. Then research car values, insurance costs, crash test results, and recalls.
Once you buy the vehicle, you'll need to register, title, and tag it, so be sure to get all the documentation you need when you buy. Then take the following to your local Tax Commissioner's Office to get your tags:
- Certificate or origin, or the original title.
- Appropriate fees and taxes. The original title fee is $18; a replacement is $8. A new law in Georgia requires sales tax to be paid at the time you register and title the vehicle, regardless of the registration time period, unless you have documentation proving the tax has already been paid.
Georgia assesses numerous penalty fees for late registration, so make sure you register and title your vehicle in a timely manner. You have 90 days to register after you purchase or transfer a title; if information on the application is incorrect or further details are needed, another penalty is assessed and you have 60 days to reapply.
In addition to being able to title and register your new vehicle at your county tax commissioner's tag office, you can perform title-only transactions in a dedicated office in Hapeville. The Department of Revenue operates an "in-person" office to handle titles. This office, located at 1200 Tradeport Blvd., provides same-day service Monday-Friday, 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. An additional $10 fee is charged for each title processed at this location.
A drop-off box is also available there. You must place all applications, documents, and appropriate fees in a sealed envelope, along with the Drop-Off Transmittal Form, before dropping the packet into the drop-off box. If you are applying for numerous transactions, a separate check must accompany each.
This office does not provide motor vehicle records, ordinary vehicle registrations, or any service related to your driver's license.
Titles are not required in Georgia for vehicles 1985 or older, but you will need to provide the Bill of Sale when you register the car in your name, so be sure to take it with you to your local Tax Commissioner's Office. If the car is newer than 1985, the Bill of Sale might still work in place of a title.
If the registration is missing, you'll need to go to your local Tax Commissioner's Office after contacting law enforcement to inspect the vehicle and the VIN. With this documentation and your Bill of Sale, you'll be able to register the car in your name.
A few tips for buying a car:
- Do your homework. Figure out what kind of car will fit your lifestyle and budget. Read consumer reports, comparison guides, and online forums to learn about the car you are researching. Comparison-shop for prices so that when you go to a dealer or buy from an individual, you will know if the price is right.
- Test-drive each car. You'll want to know if you are comfortable behind the wheel―and if passengers will be comfortable too. Climb in the back seat to check for leg room and head space.
- Check on insurance rates for the vehicle you are exploring. Rates vary greatly depending on make, model, year, and even body style.
- Once you decide on a car, get a vehicle history report on it. This report will provide a title search, accident report, lemon report, odometer check, and registration details.
- Have a mechanic examine the car to warn you of any damage or problems with the vehicle.
- Negotiate a price. Don't pay more than you should. Most sellers do not expect the buyer to pay their original asking price. Offer a dollar amount lower than you are willing to pay, then work upward as the seller makes a counter-offer.
- You have 20 days to register your newly bought car with the state. A title application must be completed before the registration can be processed.
Handy hints for selling your car:
- Determine the fair market value of your car by researching the Kelley Blue Book value at no charge. You can also get free used-car pricing information from the National Automobile Dealers Association. Print out market comparisons to show potential buyers the value of your car.
- Plan to advertise. There are numerous places online, in your local newspaper, and in a local car buying guide.
- Clean up your car. Make needed repairs and get the vehicle detailed.
- Have your paperwork ready. Your title, for vehicles 1986 or newer, should be ready to sign over to the new owner. Be sure to have a Bill of Sale ready to complete; if you don't have the title or registration, this Bill of Sale is a required document.
- When you sell the vehicle, remove the license plates. The buyer must apply for a new tag; the old tag stays with the seller.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
- 5 Reasons to Welcome Big Brother Into Your Car
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.