Buying and Selling FAQs in Georgia
I am moving to Georgia from Europe and want to bring my current vehicles with me. What do I need to do?
Georgia residents who buy, or bring, a vehicle from another state, or even another country, will need to title it in the state of Georgia. You'll need to provide the following documents and visit your local tax commissioner's office.
- Completed Title/Tag Application (Form MV-1).
- Original title signed over to you or the manufacturer's certificate of origin.
- Certificate of Inspection (Form T-22B)―You can get this done at the tax commissioner's office when you go in to make the application, or you can have any law enforcement officer perform the inspection and complete the form before you go.
- Proof of insurance.
- Emissions inspection certificate.
- Translated documents, if necessary. If any of the documents needed to register are not written in English, you must get them translated before making your application. See the state's information page for further details.
- EPA declaration (Form 3520-1).
- Appropriate taxes and fees.
For more information, please contact the Georgia Department of Revenue (DOR).
How do I get a temporary tag in Georgia?
When you buy a vehicle in Georgia, the dealer will affix a temporary tag to your purchase, whether it's new or used. That temporary tag is valid for 30 days, which usually allows enough time for all the title and registration paperwork to be processed at the Georgia DMV.
If you do not receive your temporary tag within 26 days, you may apply for one temporary tag at your local tax commissioner's office; the dealer cannot issue an extension.
You'll need to complete an Application to Extend Initial Registration Period for a Motor Vehicle Purchased from a Georgia Motor Vehicle Dealer (Form T-226I) and surrender the dealer-issued tag. You'll also need to show proof of ownership, proper ID, and proof of insurance to receive the temporary tag, which is valid for an additional 30 days.
How much tax will I pay on my new car purchase?
To get an understanding of how much you'll have to pay please refer to these charts:
Other fees you may need to pay include the $18 title fee, and an additional $10 title penalty fee if you are registering late. You can call your local tax commissioner's office for a more precise amount.
It's important to remember that the total cost of a car purchase is not just the asking price. Along with state and local taxes and registration and titling fees, you'll also likely need to budget in the cost of mechanical inspections and car insurance.
What's the best way to sell my car?
Check out our Buying and Selling section for helpful tools and fun tips. Generally, your options will include:
- Buying an ad in your local newspaper.
- Putting an ad on an online classifieds website.
- Talking with a local used car dealership about trade-ins, buybacks, etc.
After you find a buyer, you'll also generally need to remember to transfer the title, complete a bill of sale, cancel your registration, return your license plates, and cancel your insurance. For more information, please contact the Georgia Department of Revenue.
Use this form to extend your registration deadline if the seller hasn't provided the title to the vehicle you bought.
Completed by a law enforcement officer when a VIN inspection is required for registration, usually for vehicles without titles.
Use when importing a vehicle or engine into the U.S. unless the manufacturer imports it and it has an EPA certification and labeling.
Use this form for most vehicle title & registration transactions, including original applications, renewals, replacements, and changes.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!
heroes have registered as organ donors.