Boat Registration and Licenses in GeorgiaPage Overview
Boat Registration and Licenses in Georgia
Anyone who registers and titles a boat in Georgia will have to deal directly with the Department of Natural Resources.
Keep reading this page to find out all about registering and titling your boat, and other information regarding GA boat registration renewal and duplicate boat registration.
NOTE: Except for certain exemptions, all boats used on Georgia's waterways must be registered. See "Boat Registration Exemptions in GA" below.
- Boats used strictly on private ponds or lakes.
- Sailboats less than 12 ft.
- Rowboats, canoes, kayaks, and rubber rafts without mechanical propulsion.
Even though carrying boat insurance is not a requirement in Georgia, it's always a good idea to be insured; especially if you're in a boat collision.
You can start the process by reading our page about Boat Insurance.
Requirements and Procedures
Boats built after 1972 need to have a hull identification number (HIN) to be registered. If you have a post 1972 boat without a HIN, you may apply for one.
Call (800) 366-2661 with any questions you might have about boat registration.
Your registration fee is determined by the length of your boat, as follows:
- 16 ft or under (class A): $15.
- 16 ft to 26 ft (class 1): $36.
- 26 ft to 40 ft (class 2): $90.
- 40 ft or longer (class 3): $150.
If you do not renew your registration on time, you are responsible for a $10 late boat registration renewal fee.
Boat registrations in Georgia are valid for 3 years.
When it's time to renew your GA boat registration, you will receive a renewal notice and application in the mail. You can renew either by mail or in person.
To renew your boat registration by mail, you will need to send your renewal application and renewal payment (check or money order) to the address listed on the form.
Replace Lost Registration
You can apply for duplicate boat registration in Georgia by:
- Visiting a location that offers the replacement application form (such as marinas, hardware stores, sporting goods stores, or boat dealers).
- Completing the form.
- Mailing it along with your $1 duplicate registration fee to the address listed on the form.
You may need a boating license to operate certain boats, depending on your age.
If you 12 years old and under you may only operate a vessel which is less than 16 ft in length, 30 horsepower or less and must be accompanied by and adult.
If you're 12 to 15 years old and want to drive a class A (less than 16 ft long) by yourself, you must have a boat education course. Otherwise, an adult must be with you or supervising you.
The same rules apply for operating a personal watercraft.
If you're 16 years old or older, you may operate any type of motor-powered boat or personal watercraft by yourself if you have proper identification. Otherwise, again, you'll need to be with an adult or have one directly supervising you.
If you were born after January 1, 1998 you must complete a boater safety course before you are allowed to operate any watercraft in Georgia.
Approved online providers, give you the option of fulfilling your licensing requirements on the Internet. Taking a course may also help you save on your boat insurance in Georgia.
You can also complete your safety course in person. Check your local Department of Natural Resources Law Enforcement Office for classroom information.
Hours and fees vary with the provider.Other Topics in This Section
Organ Donation Survey
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Car Inspection
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸