Traffic Tickets in Florida
Continue reading this page for more information on what to do when you receive a traffic ticket and how it affects your Florida driving record.
In Florida, your traffic ticket fine may vary depending on which county you received your citation. In addition to the fine and having points added to your driving record, you may also need to pay surcharges.
The amount you need to pay will depend on the severity of your violation and the type of traffic ticket you received (e.g., speeding ticket, red light ticket).
For more information about fines and penalties, visit our Ticket Fines & Penalties page.
NOTE: If you accrue too many points on your driving record within 12 months, you may be subject to penalties, such as a license suspension. Our FL Point System page has more information.
Remove Driving Record Points
Completing a basic driver improvement course (if eligible) after you receive a traffic ticket may help to:
- Reduce or eliminate points from your driving record.
- Prevent your car insurance rates from increasing.
If you choose this option, you must notify the court handling your ticket within 30 days of being cited.
NOTE: The county clerk will charge you an additional driving school election fee.
In Florida, you may have several options to pay your traffic ticket, including:
- By mail.
- By phone.
- In person.
For more information, read our Paying Traffic Tickets in FL page.
If you do not believe you violated a Florida traffic law, you may be able to fight your traffic ticket. Check the ticket for instructions or contact the local county court for more information.
To plead not guilty to a traffic ticket, you'll need to appear in court for a hearing. You may want to consider hiring a traffic ticket attorney.
Visit our page about How to Fight a Traffic Ticket in Florida for information on how to submit your plea.
NOTE: After your hearing, if the court finds you guilty, completing a defensive driving course could dismiss your ticket or remove driving record points.
To replace a lost ticket in Florida, you'll most likely need to deal with the county clerk in the location you were ticketed.
If you have a commercial driver's license (CDL) and receive a Florida traffic ticket, you must notify your employer within 30 days of conviction. Depending on the type of violation, you could face a fine, CDL suspension, or even permanent revocation.
For more information about points and suspensions for CDL drivers, please visit our following pages:
Serious traffic offenses result in harsher penalties in Florida, such as heavy fines and even an automatic driver's license suspension.
Major traffic violations include:
- Reckless driving.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- Driving under the influence of drugs/alcohol.
NOTE: If you're convicted of a major traffic violation, you may want to hire a traffic ticket attorney.
Need more information? Visit our Traffic Ticket FAQ page for more information on topics, including:
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!