Search
Search & Choose State

  • Point Reduction in Florida

    Florida Traffic School & Defensive Driving

    Florida allows you to enroll in and complete a basic driver improvement course in order to avoid accumulating violation-related points on their driving record. “Violation-related points” are points the driver would have incurred per that particular traffic ticket.

    For more information, please visit our Traffic Schools in Florida page.

    Traffic Tickets and Driving Record Points

    Florida will not dismiss your traffic ticket from your record if you enroll in and successfully complete a basic driver improvement course. However, traffic school will reduce the points you would have incurred due to the FL traffic ticket. You must still pay your traffic ticket fine.

    Also note that:

    • Driving school for point reduction is an option only for non-criminal moving violations. During situations when other types of more serious violations―such as car accidents, running red lights, and reckless driving― are involved, driving schools become options for keeping your FL driver’s license.
    • You may only opt to enroll in driving school once every 12 months, and 5 times total in your lifetime.
    • If applicable, your status as a safe driver is maintained after you complete driving school.
    • If you have your learner's license, it is possible to avoid conviction by taking a basic driver improvement course.
    • If you are a FL CDL holder, you will not be eligible for point reduction via a traffic school.

    Complete a FL Driving Safety Course

    To take advantage of traffic school, you must notify the court within 30 days of receiving your Florida traffic ticket, but prior to actually enrolling in the course.

    Generally, drivers pay their traffic ticket fines at the same time they notify the court. In addition to your fine, you’ll also pay an election fee to the court.

    Submit Requirements to the Court

    The traffic school provider will notify the FL DMV of your course completion, but it’s up to you to notify the court. The time limit varies by court (for example, some courts require drivers to mail, fax, or deliver in person their completion certificates within 60 days of paying the traffic ticket―not completing the course).

    Generally, the clerk will give you specific instructions on this when you pay your ticket and notify the court you want to enroll in traffic school; if you’re not sure of your county’s procedure, contact your Clerk of Court.

    Check Your Florida Driving Record

    It’s a good idea to check your Florida driving record after you complete traffic school. Not only do you want to make sure your record didn’t incur any points related to the violation, but you also want to make sure you’re in good standing in terms of avoiding a driver's license suspension. Accumulating a certain number of points within a specific time period makes you eligible for automatic driver's license suspension.

    For more information, please visit our pages on the following topics:

    Instant Florida Driving Record

    Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record. Each record may include suspensions, points, classifications, vital data, endorsements, expiration and driving status.

    Name:
    License Number: FL

    Get an Auto Insurance Discount

    Once you complete a Florida driving school course, your auto insurance provider is prohibited from increasing your auto insurance premium, and some providers even offer a discount.

    Talk with your provider about the possibility of discounted car insurance premiums for taking the course, and be sure to hang on to your completion certificate, as most providers require these as proof.

    Registering a car?

    It's a good time to check car insurance rates

    Find the lowest rate among top providers.