New to Florida
When you move to Florida, there are a number of tasks you'll need to complete. These include registering your vehicle, getting a Florida driver's license, and registering to vote. Additionally, you'll need to acquire FL car insurance.
From applying for a new driver's license, to registering your car, if you're a new resident to the state of Florida, you can find the information you need using this handy guide.
Getting familiar with the agencies handling your information is an important step in establishing residency in any state. In Florida, the departments you'll be interacting with are:
- Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV): Responsible for motor vehicle and licensing regulations.
- Division of Elections: Oversees voter registration.
- Department of State: Regulates Division of Elections, as well as the state's corporations, cultural institutions, historical resources, and libraries.
If you have a vehicle you're bringing into Florida from out of state, you'll need to have it registered with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) and obtain relevant license plates.
FL Vehicle Registration
In the state of Florida, your vehicle is required to be registered within 10 days of when you either:
- Become employed.
- Place your children in public school.
- Establish residency in the state.
For more information please, visit our Car Registration in Florida page.
Special Vehicle Registration
If you're looking to register a boat, recreational vehicle (RV), moped, or other unique vehicle, please refer to our Florida Special Vehicle Registration page.
Car Insurance in Florida
The FL DHSMV requires you to have valid car insurance before you can register your car. To learn your new state's minimum requirements and get the best value for your personal needs, please refer to our page on Car Insurance in Florida.
Vehicle inspections in Florida
The State of Florida abolished their previous auto emissions test for all vehicles. They do, however, offer some incentives for eco-friendly driving. You can find additional information about this topic on our page detailing Car Inspections in Florida.
Once you've moved, you must obtain a Florida driver's license within 10 days of becoming a resident. If you fail to drive with a valid Florida driver's license after this time, you could risk receiving a fine if you're pulled over by law enforcement.
Adult Florida Driver's License
If you have a valid out-of-state driver's license, you will usually be able to easily convert it over to a Florida license.
For more information, visit our Applying for a New License (Drivers 18+) page.
If you're under 18 years old and wish to drive in Florida, you can find everything you need to know on our page about Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers).
If you have an out-of-state learner's permit, you may be eligible to transfer it for a FL learner's license.
Florida Identification Cards
If you're new to Florida but don't drive and just need to obtain an ID card, you can find the information you need on our Florida Identification Cards page.
If you've just moved to Florida and wish to vote in the next election, you will need to re-register within the state. Your out-of-state voter registration does not automatically transfer to Florida when you move. Refer to our FL Voter Registration page.
Florida DHSMV offices are abundant throughout the state. If you're unsure of where your closest branch is, you can find it by using our handy DMV Office Finder. You may also find some other helpful information using these following resources:
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!
heroes have registered as organ donors.