Motorcycle License in Florida
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
As the Sunshine State, Florida is an ideal home for motorcycle enthusiasts who love to ride throughout the year. Obtaining legal authorization for those rides is important, though. If you ride a two- or three-wheeled motorbike with an engine of 50 cc or more, you must have a motorcycle endorsement on your regular driver license, or a motorcycle-only license. The endorsement fee is $7.
- You must be at least 16 years old.
- You must have at least a regular Class E driver license.
- You must complete the Basic Rider Course, regardless of age.
To apply, you'll need to complete a written exam with multiple-choice questions about basic road safety and motorcycle laws. You'll also have to undergo a driving test on your motorcycle, as well as a vision and hearing test. Check out the Florida Motorcycle Handbook for specifics about rules of the road and basic skills.
You can make an appointment for your written or skills test; visit our Locations & Hours page to find out how, as well as check for office locations.
To obtain a license that allows you to operate a motorcycle only, you'll be held to the same eligibility and testing requirements as above, except you won't need to be tested on four-wheeled vehicle (normal automobile) driving skills.
If you're at least 21 years old and have a minimum medical insurance policy of $10,000, you can bypass wearing a helmet while riding a motorcycle. Otherwise, you'll have to wear a helmet.
All riders must have some sort of eye protection, such as goggles or glasses, or have a windshield on the bike.
Obtain a regular Class E driver license or higher; a motorcycle endorsement is not necessary. You'll still need to register your moped or scooter with the Division of Motor Vehicles, however, and all passengers younger than 16 will be required to wear protective headgear.
Visit our Other Types page for additional information about riding a moped or scooter in Florida.
Every motorcycle rider must complete a basic motorcycle safety course before obtaining a motorcycle endorsement or motorcycle-only license. The course must be one that is approved by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF).
The FRTP offers the safety education classes:
- Basic RiderCourse (BRC): 15 hours of entry-level skills for responsible riding. Training includes starting, stopping, turning, swerving, and cornering. Bikes, safety gear, and handbooks are provided. You'll need at least a Class E learner's license to sign up.
Temporary instruction permits are no longer issued.
Riders 21 and older who have completed an ERC course may be eligible to skip the required Florida motorcycle tests for a license endorsement. Bring proof of your completed course and passing grade on your end-of-course tests to your local driver license office.
All graduates of BRC and ERC classes may also be eligible for discounts on insurance premiums. Check with your insurance provider for details.
If your out-of-state license is current and already has a motorcycle endorsement, you won't be required to take additional tests to get the endorsement on your new Florida license. That is, as long as if you are younger than 21, you have completed a Florida-approved safety course. If you are older than 21 but haven't completed an approved safety course, you will need to take and pass the motorcycle knowledge and skills test.
If you're stationed outside of Florida and need a motorcycle endorsement for your FL driver license, you'll need to:
- Complete a military-sponsored or MSF-approved motorcycle safety course.
- Send the completion card from the course, along with a $32 check or money order ($25 for license, $7 for endorsement) and a request for a duplicate license with a motorcycle endorsement, to the Division of Driver Licenses at: Bureau of Records, P.O. Box 5775, Tallahassee, FL 32314-5775. Include your full name, out-of-state mailing address, driver license number, and date of birth in your request. You may also need to provide identification documents again, so be prepared.
There are currently no passenger age restriction laws.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
- 5 Reasons to Welcome Big Brother Into Your Car
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.