License Plates & Placards in Florida
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
In a world where everyone wants to show his or her individuality, specialty license plates have become more and more popular with Florida drivers. Whether you want to save the whales, honk for family values, or just get a wheelchair-accessible parking place, the state has a plate for you. Check them all out at once in this license plate brochure.
The most common kind of specialty license plate is the wheelchair plate, which you can obtain by request at your local county tax collector's office. You must have already been approved for a disabled parking permit to request the plates. See Drivers With Disabilities on this site for more information about disabled parking permits.
Once you receive the new license plate, you'll need to turn in your old one. The new plate will have the same expiration date as the previous one, no matter when you acquired it. You'll still need to renew the registration on this plate annually or biennially.
If your disabled parking permit is lost, damaged, or stolen, you may replace it for free by going to a county tax collector's office with your driver's license and a completed Application for Replacement License Plate, Validation Decal or Parking Permit.
If your disabled parking plate is lost, damaged, or stolen, follow the procedures listed on our Replacing a Lost Registration page for replacing license plates.
Perhaps the ideal time to switch from regular to specialty plates would be at the time that your five-year license replacement cycle comes around, but if you can't wait another year to show your love for the manatee, then you can get the new plates at your renewal for a fee of $10, plus the specialty plate fee for the cause you're supporting.
The state's website offers a complete list of specialty plates, along with fees and a photo for each.
Your vehicle must be at least 30 years old to qualify for antique plate status.
To receive the plates, bring your current registration with you to a county tax collector's office.
If you want to send a message that's all your own, you can apply for a personalized license plate. You can check online first to see if the plate you want is available. If it is, you fill out the application and submit it to your local county tax collector's office. The application will need to be reviewed and accepted to ensure that no obscene or objectionable words or phrases are being used.
If it's accepted, you should be able to pick up the new plate at your county tax collector's office in about 45 days. You'll need to surrender your old plate at that time. The personalized plate costs $15 per year, in addition to regular renewal and/or other specialty plate fees.
Basic license plate fees vary depending on a few factors, including the vehicle's type and weight.
Florida statutes mandate a 10-year replacement on all license plates for reflection-purposes. You'll still have to renew your vehicle registration during this time.
The state requires Florida residents to return their license plates after relocating to another state. Learn more on our FL License Plate Surrender page.
Other Topics in This Section
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Smog & Emission Checks
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.