Drivers Permits in Florida
Never had a FL drivers license? All first time drivers in the State of Florida are required by law to take a Florida drivers ed course prior to applying for a Florida drivers license. DMV.ORG recommends FloridaDrivingCourse.com as a good choice for Florida drivers ed.
|Enroll in the FloridaDrivingCourse.com four-hour class from the privacy of your own home and complete it at your convenience. This course will allow you to learn about how alcohol and other drugs affect your ability to drive, FL laws and responsibilities, safe driving techniques, and how to increase your awareness on Florida's roadways. After completing the online course, you will be prepared to take your FL drivers license written exam online at your local Florida DMV office.
Getting Your Florida Learner's Permit
The number of accidents each year involving teen drivers is astonishing. To combat this, and to improve the quality of teen drivers statewide; Florida became the first state to enact a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program.
One of the first milestones on your journey to your Florida driver's license is to obtain your driver's permit, called a learner license in FL. Below you will find everything you need to know—from what you need to bring to the Division of Driver Licenses to taking an online Driver's Ed course. You'll even learn about passing the written exam on your first try with the help of an online practice test.
Need a Drivers Permit Checklist?
Print out our DMV.org Driver's Permit Checklist and be fully prepared when visiting the DMV office. You'll have all the step-by-step instructions, forms, and fees needed to make getting your Driver's Permit as Easy as 1-2-3.
New to Florida?
If you're new to the state you can transfer a learner's permit from your previous state to Florida. Just bring the documents mentioned below along with your existing permit with you to your local Division of Driver Licenses.
Apply for Your FL Learner's Permit
To get your learner's permit in the state of Florida, you must:
- Be at least 15 years old.
- Complete a Traffic Laws and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course.
- This course is also referred to as Driver's Ed. You can complete the course in a classroom, or you can do it online from a certified provider. For more about online driver's education courses, please visit our page on Driver's Ed in Florida.
Bring the following to your local Division of Driver Licenses office:
- Proof that you completed a TLSAE course.
- Cash or a check for $48 for the Class E driver's license fee, which also includes a learner license.
- Parental Consent For a Driver Application of a Minor (Form HSMV 71142), signed in the presence of a driver license examiner or notarized if your parent or guardian cannot be present.
- If you are under 18 years old and not married, a parent or legal guardian must sign your driver's license application. Step-parents may not sign unless they have legally adopted you.
- Proof of identity (e.g. original or certified birth certificate, valid U.S. passport, certificate of naturalization).
- Proof of Social Security number (e.g. Social Security card, W-2 form, paycheck stub).
- Proof of residential address from your parent, step-parent or legal guardian (e.g. deed or monthly mortgage statement, Florida voter registration card, Florida Vehicle registration).
For more information regarding these required documents, please visit the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV)list of acceptable documents.
Taking the FL Written Permit Test
When you're ready to take your written Florida permit test, you have a couple options.
Take the Exam Online
If you complete an approved online Driver's Ed course, you can take the written exam online as well. Upon successful completion of the course and passing the exam, your Driver's Ed provider will electronically notify the DHSMV. (See below for details on the exam itself.)
Make sure to bring the above documents to your nearest Division of Driver Licenses office once you pass your exam to earn your permit.
Take the Florida Permit Test in Person
If you're taking your exam in person, bring the above documents and be prepared to take the written permit test at your local Division of Driver Licenses office.
About Your FL Written Permit Test
The two multiple choice tests are comprised of 50 questions covering road signs and traffic laws. To pass you will need to answer 40 questions correctly. You'll find helpful information for the tests in the Florida Driver Handbook. You'll also need to pass a vision test and a hearing test to get your learner license.
Although studying the Driver Manual is a good suggestion, we have another option. If you want to pass the exam on your first attempt, we recommend using an online practice test from our certified partner. These comprehensive study assistants have been designed to ensure your success.
Need to get a learner’s permit? Let’s click through the process. How old are you?
Sorry you must be at least 15 years old to apply for a learner’s permit. But you can start preparing now by checking out the Florida Driver’s Handbook.
Have you completed a TLSAE course?
Did you pass your written test online?
Great! You’re ready for your learner’s permit. Review the Learner’s Permit checklist. Review the Learner’s Permit Checklist.
Okay, you’ll need to take the written test at the DHSMV.
You’re ready to go! Make sure you’re ready with our Permit Checklist
Okay, you’ll need to take the written test at the DHSMV.
Did you pass Driver’s Ed?
Nice! You’re ready to get your Intermediate/Provisional license.
Ok you’ll need to take the TLSAE course.
Good news! Since you’re over 18 years old, you don’t need a Learner’s Permit, but you do need to follow these steps to get your Driver’s License.
Before you take your written test we recommend studying a DMV Cheatsheet.
Most teen and first time drivers, fail their learners permit or written test the first time. We recommend purchasing a Florida practice test to prepare and teach you what you need to know to successfully pass your written exam.
- 100% State Specific Questions Online
- Available 24/7 - Study when you want
- Easy to Understand, Easier to Pass
Before you take your written test we recommend taking a Practice Test.
Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It's like having the answers before you take the test.
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone.
- Just print and go to the DMV
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Florida Learner's Permit Driving Restrictions
With your learner's permit in your possession, you're allowed to drive only:
- For the first 3 months, during daylight hours.
- After the first 3 months, until 10 p.m.
- You must remain accident- and infraction-free during this time, or your curfew privileges will be rescinded.
- With a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old who occupies the front passenger seat.
Behind-the-Wheel Driving Requirements
In order to get to the next phase of the GDL, which is getting your driver's license, your parent or guardian must certify that you have completed 50 hours of supervised practice driving during your learner's permit phase, with 10 hours being driven at night.
Replacing Your Florida Learner's Permit
If you lose your learner's permit, you can replace it online or at a Division of Driver Licenses office. The fee to replace it is $25. You must bring the same identification documents as listed above.
For more information, please check out our Florida Replacing a Lost License/Permit page.
Your Next Step: Get Your Florida Driver's License
Once you have your learner's permit in your possession, it's time to work on being a safe and responsible driver. Being on the open road is a very liberating experience, but it does not come without risk. Please use extreme caution at all times behind the wheel.
The next step in the Florida GDL process is to get your driver's license. For more information, please refer to our FL Teen Apply for License page.
This form must be signed by a parent or guardian when a minor applies for a driver's license.
Have Pledged to Not Drive Distracted.