Drivers Ed in Florida
Never had a FL drivers license? All first time drivers in the State of Florida are required by law to take a Florida drivers ed course prior to applying for a Florida drivers license. DMV.ORG recommends FloridaDrivingCourse.com as a good choice for Florida drivers ed.
First-Time Driver (D.A.T.A.) - FloridaDrivingCourse.com Enroll in the FloridaDrivingCourse.com four-hour class from the privacy of your own home and complete it at your convenience. This course will allow you to learn about how alcohol and other drugs affect your ability to drive, FL laws and responsibilities, safe driving techniques, and how to increase your awareness on Florida's roadways. After completing the online course, you will be prepared to take your FL drivers license written exam online at your local Florida DMV office.
Learning to drive is a big step for any teen, but the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) has created a lot of help along the way. Check out Applying For a New License on this site to get the specific details about how to apply for your learner's and operator's licenses.
Education Comes First
Before you get any kind of license, you need to learn the rules and some basic skills. A good place to start is the Florida Driver Handbook, which contains a lot of valuable information about driving laws and procedures. Here's just some of what you'll find in the handbook:
If you're taking a driver's ed course at school, that class will usually cover the first-time driver education requirements set by the State of Florida. Check with your school board to make sure.
If your school doesn't offer driver's ed, you'll need to take a required Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course through a private company, such as Florida Driving Course, before applying for your learner's license. The state has compiled a list of approved course providers on the DHSMV Web site.
FLORIDA DRIVERS ED ONLINE SPONSOR
For Parents of New Drivers
We understand your time and your child's safety is important. That's why FloridaDrivingCourse.com designed a program around your schedule.
- Convenient & affordable online study courses
- Same quality of education as a classroom
- Secure checkout process
- State Approved
Sign up your teen driver today. Click here to get started.
Driving Independence, Step by Step
Because the State of Florida is serious about ensuring the safety of teens (and everyone else) on the highways, legislators have come up with a process that allows first-time drivers to gain experience and freedom gradually. Here are the steps you'll take:
Learner's license: You have to be at least 15 years old to get this instructional permit, which only allows you to drive during daylight hours and accompanied at all times by a licensed driver who's at least 21 years old. You'll be required to have this license for a year, during which you must get at least 50 hours of driving experience, with 10 of those hours being at night. You'll need to have a parent or guardian sign a statement saying you did indeed get at least the minimum hours of experience.
Operator's license: Once you're 16, you can take your on-road driving test and get your operator's license, which allows you to drive alone in the car between the hours of 6 a.m. and 11 p.m. (If you're driving to or from work or accompanied by a licensed driver who's at least 21, you can drive during restricted hours.) When you turn 17, you'll get a little more freedom, and be allowed to drive alone between 5 a.m. and 1 a.m., unless driving to or from work or accompanied by a licensed driver who's 21 or older.
Regular Class E license: At age 18, you'll be able to drive alone at any time or day or night. But even though you have an unrestricted license, you should know that the state will penalize you more harshly for certain infractions, until you are 21. See the }Teen Drivers section on this site for more information about the penalties for younger drivers. The increased penalties aren't to keep you down; they're mainly to send a serious message about the need for safe and experienced driving.
Other Driver Education Courses
4-Hour Basic Driver Improvement (BDI & TCAC)
If you have a Florida driver's license or you received a ticket in Florida, then the four-hour Basic Driver Improvement (BDI & TCAC) course is for you! By taking this class, you can keep points off your record for the current violation, you can hold onto your same insurance rate if the citation was not associated with an accident (statute 318.14 (9)), and you can maintain your safe-driver status. Just make sure you are only attending a driver improvement course once every 12 months and no more than five times in a ten year period.
Mature Driver Program
If you have a Florida Driver's License and are 55 years of age or older, you are now eligible to complete a 6 hour motor vehicle accident prevention course that will allow you to receive a mandatory reduction on your insurance rate for three years. (Florida Statute 627.0652).
Eight-Hour Immediate Driver Improvement
If the court or a judge has ordered you to take a traffic class, then the Florida 8 Hour Judge Ordered course is for you! Simply register for the course and start immediately.
Florida 12-Hour Advanced Driver Improvement
If you have had your Florida Driver's License Suspended or Revoked (Non-DUI Related), the 12-Hour Advanced Driver Improvement Course is for you! This course is required for those who have received point suspensions for 12 points in 12 months, 18 points in 18 months and 24 points in 36 months. It is also required for those persons who have been identified as Habitual Traffic Offenders (also known as HTO). This course addresses many court referral requirements as mandated by judges or via standing administrative orders.Page Overview
Driver’s Education in Florida
If you have never held a regular driver’s license in any state, country, or jurisdiction, you must complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course prior to applying for a learner’s permit in Florida.
Most states refer to this course as Driver’s Ed, but in Florida it is also known as TLSAE, the 4-Hour Drug & Alcohol course, or the First Time Driver D.A.T.A. course.
You will also need to complete a TLSAE course if you are under 21 years old and have had your driver’s license suspended for driving under the influence (DUI).
A Florida driver’s education course is vital for any driver that wants to be smarter, safer, and more responsible. Driver’s Ed teaches the importance of road awareness and traffic safety for first-time drivers, and it can also be an excellent refresher for those who are more seasoned drivers.
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) requires all new drivers to complete Driver’s Ed before being eligible for a FL learner’s permit. Some insurance companies even offer discounts if you have completed an approved Driver’s Ed course.
Here’s what to expect from your Florida Drivers Education course:
- You’ll learn all the basics of being a safe and responsible driver.
- You’ll be able to identify Florida state-specific road signs and know what they mean.
- You’ll understand the physiological and psychological consequences of the abuse of alcohol and other drugs.
The FL Driver’s Ed course, or TLSAE, consists of 4 hours of instruction with a maximum of 30 minutes for breaks.
If you’re under 18 years old and you successfully complete your course online, you can take the DHSMV written exam online as well. Otherwise, you will need to take your written exam in person in order to receive your Florida learner’s permit.
Once you successfully pass the written test, your results will be submitted automatically to the FLHSMV.
If you’re a first-time driver, you must successfully complete a TLSAE course before you can apply for your Florida learner’s permit.
In order to apply for your learner's permit, you need to be at least 15 years old. Please contact your driver’s education provider for details on how old you need to be to enroll in their course.
Your high school may provide a state-approved Driver’s Ed course, which typically includes the TLSAE curriculum.
New to Florida?
If you have taken Driver’s Ed in another state other than Florida, the FLHSMV will honor it as long as it meets state requirements. For more information, contact the FLHSMV.
Florida Driver's Ed can be taken:
- Through your high school or secondary school.
- With an approved third-party provider either:
- In a traditional classroom setting.
- In a traditional classroom setting.
A list of TLSAE providers can be found on the FLHSMV website.Don't Forget an Online Practice Test!
An ideal complement to your Driver Education course is preparing for the FLHSMV written exam with a Florida online practice test. These industry-leading study helpers have been developed from content sourced directly from the FL driver handbook. It’s like having the answers before you take the test!
Once you complete your Florida TLSAE Driver’s Ed course, your course provider will automatically notify the DHSMV on your behalf within 5 days.
The next step in the Florida graduated driver’s license program is to get your learner’s permit. For more information, refer to our Driver’s Permits in Florida page.Other Topics in This SectionOrgan Donation Survey
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸