Drivers with Disabilities in Florida
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Obtaining a Florida disabled parking permit is a simple procedure, as long as you have a qualifying disability:
- Legally blind (this is the only disability an optometrist can certify).
- Unable to walk 200 feet because of one of the following conditions:
- An inability to walk without the use of or assistance from a brace, cane, crutch, prosthetic device, or other assistive device, or without assistance of another person. If the assistive device significantly restores your ability to walk enough so you can walk without extensive limitation, you are not eligible for the permit.
- Permanently need to use a wheelchair.
- Lung disease to the extent that your forced expiratory volume for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter, or your arterial oxygen is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest.
- Use of portable oxygen.
- Class III or Class IV cardiac condition (standards set by the American Heart Association).
- Walking is severely limited because of your arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition.
- Fill out Form HSMV 83039, and have your medical professional sign the certification statement. Then return it in person or by mail to your local tax collector's office or license plate agency.
- Pay the required fees: $15 (including tax collector's fees) for a temporary permit, valid up to six months. If your medical professional certifies you for a second temporary permit within a 12-month period, there is no charge for the second permit.
Once you receive your parking permit, you can also apply for a disabled (wheelchair logo) license plate at your local tax collector's office. You'll need to surrender your current license plate in exchange for the new one.
The parking permit must be hung on the rearview mirror of the vehicle, and the permit number must be visible to someone standing outside the vehicle.
If you have a long-term permit, you should receive a renewal notice as your expiration date nears. Submit a copy of your current permit registration and proof of your valid driver's license or identification card to your local tax collector's office. Contact the tax collector in your county with any questions.
Extensions are not allowed on temporary permits, so if your disability persists after your permit expires, you'll need to submit another application for a new temporary permit.
Your parking permit will allow you to park at metered spaces for free, but only for a maximum of four hours at a time. You may also be entitled to free parking at other venues, including sports stadiums, convention centers, and airports.
Even if you visit another state, your Florida disabled parking permit will still qualify you for that state's special disability parking privileges.
Keep in mind that the disabled permit entitles an individual, not the vehicle, to the special parking privileges. Anyone who unlawfully uses a disabled parking permit could be fined $1,000 or spend six months in jail.
Do not loan your parking permit to friends or relatives. Even if someone is driving your vehicle to take care of your personal business, he or she can still be fined if you are not present in the vehicle at the time.
If you are visiting Florida and have a disability parking permit from another state, you do not need to apply for a temporary permit during your stay. Florida currently recognizes all disability permits from other states.
To find out whether your Florida disability license plates or permit will be honored in another state, refer to our Drivers with Disabilities section for the state you plan to visit.
If your disabled parking permit is lost, stolen, or damaged, you may replace it for free by going to a tax collector's office with your driver's license.
If your disabled parking plate is lost, stolen, or damaged, follow the procedures listed on our Replacing a Lost Registration for replacing license plates.
Other Topics in This Section
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Smog & Emission Checks
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.