Paperwork When Selling a Car in FloridaCompare Car Insurance Quotes in 3 Steps
1. Enter Your Zip:Page Overview
The person who buys your used vehicle should transfer the title and register the vehicle in his or her name within 30 days, but that doesn't always happen. If the buyer fails to complete the transfer, it creates legal issues for you as the owner of record on the vehicle. To avoid civil liability or other problems, fill out the Notice of Sale and submit it to your local county tax collector's office within 30 days of the vehicle's sale.
This allows the HSMV records to show that vehicle as "sold," and releases you from legal liability. It also removes your registration information from the HSMV database and essentially makes it illegal for the buyer to operate the vehicle on public roads until it's properly titled and registered in his or her name.
Never sell a vehicle without a title. The HSMV must have a title in order to verify and identify the vehicle to transfer ownership. If a vehicle is missing its title, apply for a duplicate title before initiating a sale. This will be signed over to the buyer.
It is fine to sell a vehicle without a registration. The title must still be signed over and the car registered by the new owner.
For more information, check out the HSMV's articles about buying or selling a car.
Be sure to protect yourself by keeping a completed Bill of Sale for your own records. If you have difficulty finding Florida's version, you can easily download our Bill of Sale.Organ Donation Survey
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸