Buying and Selling FAQs in Florida
We have many sections devoted to the important matter of buying and selling vehicles, including our State Regulations section. After all, next to buying or selling your home, this transaction will likely involve the most money. So, in this section, we'll take a look at some common questions regarding this issue.
What is a bill of sale?
It's a written document that helps to provide proof of transfer of ownership of personal property, such as a car. It will contain important information, including the purchase price of the vehicle, the sale date, a description of the vehicle, and the names of the buyer and seller.
Where can I get a blank bill of sale?
What is a notice of sale?
It's a form you should complete and file with your local county tax collector office within 30 days of selling your vehicle. Doing so protects you from civil liability and other headaches that could occur if the buyer doesn't promptly register and title the vehicle.
Filing the form alerts the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) that the vehicle has been sold, and will let the DMV know that your old registration information can be removed from the system.
How much does it cost to register and get plates for my new vehicle?
That's a good question, but there isn't a simple answer. These registration fees vary depending on the weight and type of vehicle.
How long are temporary plates valid, and how much do they cost?
They're good for 30 days, and they cost $5 each. You may order two plates at your local county tax collector office.
I'm selling my vehicle. What do I need to fill out on the title?
In the seller section, write the buyer's name and address, vehicle sales price, odometer reading, and the date of the sale. Be sure to also print and sign your name.
I'm buying a vehicle. What do I need to fill out on the title?
You just need to print and sign your name in the buyer's section.
I want the title to be in my wife's name, too. Will she need to be present when the title is being assigned?
Yes, she will. Everyone listed on the title must be there when it is being assigned.
I'm selling a vehicle to a private buyer. Do we need to complete the title transaction at a county tax collector office?
Absolutely not. However, it is a good idea, as this way questions can be easily answered, and you can rest assured that both parties have properly handled the necessary requirements.
I'm buying a used vehicle from someone in Georgia. Is there anything special that I need to do?
Yes. With a few exceptions, all vehicles that were titled or registered in another state must undergo a vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection in Florida.
These inspections can be completed by law enforcement officers, county tax collector employees, or licensed motor vehicle dealers (including out-of-state dealers).
I'm having all sorts of problems with my new car. Where I can find out more about Florida's Lemon Law?
We cover this subject in our Lemon Law section.
Where can I find more information about registering and titling cars?
I want a hybrid car, but they're expensive. Are there any tax breaks for hybrids?
No. Incentives for hybrids ended December 31, 2010.
Find New and Used Cars for Sale in Florida
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
- 5 Reasons to Welcome Big Brother Into Your Car
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.