Accident Guide in Florida
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
No one likes to think about being in an accident. But, unfortunately, it's a situation that you'll likely face―perhaps more than once. So you should be aware of what Florida law requires you to do if you're in an accident.
You must stop your vehicle immediately after the accident. Position your vehicle in a manner that won't obstruct other motorists. If you can't do this, then either ask for help, or call a tow truck.
If someone has been hurt, you must attempt to secure medical help right away, or take the injured to receive help. When staying at the scene, you must remain until help arrives.
Give your name, address, and registration number to anyone involved in the accident who requests this information. You may have to show your driver's license, too. Law enforcement officers arriving on the scene have the right to all of this information, as well.
Accidents involving an injury or death, a hit-and-run or intoxicated driver, or property damage that appears to be over $500 need to be reported immediately to law enforcement. The investigating officer will make a written report on all accidents involving a death or injury.
If an officer completes a report, you won't need to file a crash report (HTML version or PDF version.) However, if a crash report hasn't been filed by law enforcement, then you'll need to do so within 10 days of the accident.
Mail the report to:
- Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles
- Traffic Crash Records Section
- Tallahassee, FL 32399
What if you're hurt and unable to contact police following the accident, or file a report later? If there was a passenger in your vehicle, that person can call police or complete the report instead.
Or, if you aren't the owner of the vehicle you were driving, the owner may file the report for you.
You're backing out of a parking space. You swear you have enough room to safely maneuver your vehicle and be on your way. But that annoying astigmatism of yours gets in the way, and you end up putting a dent into the front fender of some poor soul's vehicle.
What should you do?
For this and all other accidents involving an unoccupied vehicle or property other than a vehicle, you're required to notify the owner. If you cannot find the owner, then attach a note to the damaged vehicle or property which contains your name, address, and license plate number. Be sure to write legibly. Also, report the accident to law enforcement right away.
The state is serious about your behavior following an accident. Failing to follow the proper procedures could result in license revocation, criminal charges, and other penalties.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
- 5 Reasons to Welcome Big Brother Into Your Car
Instant Driving Record
Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record.
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.