Traffic Schools in Delaware
If you have received a traffic ticket in Delaware, then a Delaware State Approved Traffic School is a great way to dismiss your traffic ticket and lose the points from your driving records. I Drive Safely is a good choice for Delaware traffic school online.
The successful completion of a course from one of the approved traffic schools may prevent violations from damaging your driving record. While in many cases a course just might get a traffic ticket dismissed, attending traffic school can also enhance your driving knowledge and skill level, and it may increase your overall safety awareness so that you, your family, and other drivers can be safer on the roads.
You can receive up to a three-point credit on your driving record while receiving a 10-15% discount on your auto insurance by completing a defensive driving course.
The initial class is six hours long, and those who successfully complete it receive 10% off their personal and liability insurance. The discount is good for three years from the date you complete the class. You may take a three-hour "refresher" class later, which will increase your discount to 15%.
Restrictions and Rewards
Of course, there are some restrictions.
The class must be through an approved provider. You can only receive the credit once every three years. And, it's up to the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to determine if you'll receive the full three points.
Still, though, the class provides a nice option for many Delaware drivers to not only some save money, but to review driving laws and safe driving practices.
Cost and Availability
The cost of the course varies according to the provider. Some providers allow you to take the class online, which is acceptable to the DMV.
The Delaware Insurance Department oversees the defensive driving program. You may contact the organization by calling (302) 739-4251, or by writing to:
- Delaware Insurance Department
- 841 Silver Lake Blvd.
- Dover, DE 19904
If you're been convicted of a total of three types of certain violations, you're considered by Delaware law to be an "aggressive driver." Examples of these infractions include speeding, failing to stop when ordered to by a police officer, failing to yield, following too closely, passing on a shoulder, and unsafe lane change.
The state hopes to curb aggressive driving by forcing those found guilty of it to enroll in a behavioral modification/attitudinal-driving course within 90 days of the conviction. The course is available statewide through approved providers and is overseen by the DMV.
Check with the individual providers for location and class schedule information. Some give you the option of taking the class online, which is allowed by the state.
The class is at least eight hours long, and costs $100. After you've paid the fee to the provider and successfully completed the course, you'll need to prove to the Delaware DMV that you passed by the course by showing the completion certificate.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.