Renewing Your CDL in Delaware
Get Free Commercial Auto Insurance Quotes from Multiple Providers
Enter Your Zip Code:
Every five years your driver's license will expire. Renewing your CDL is similar to renewing a regular driver's license in that testing, beyond the eye exam, is not required. However, certain endorsements do require written tests even at renewal time. A review of the Commercial Driver's Manual will help you with the endorsement categories.
Any upgrades to state or federal laws might mean a more involved renewal process. For example, if you have a hazardous materials endorsement you may be subject to a background check.
You cannot renew online or even by mail. Your CDL can only be renewed at one of the DMV offices. Check the DMV hours before heading out to get your renewal; the DMV Offices are open late on Wednesdays for your convenience. The licensing offices are very busy so be sure to get there early.
About 60 days before your license expires the DMV will mail you a renewal reminder. Of course, you must have kept them informed of any address changes to be certain you receive your reminder card.
Most CDL licenses cost only $30 and some endorsement may cost more. If you are adding endorsements or renewing endorsements, you may have to take written or road test. Adding an endorsement at renewal time is just like applying for a new CDL. Many professional drivers make a habit of reviewing the Commercial Driver's Manual at renewal time.
The DMV encourages you to renew anytime in the 90-day period before your license expires so you can avoid long lines and have a pleasant DMV experience.
Every driver is required to pass the eye screening exam. In Delaware the regular Class D operator license requirement is 20/40. In fact, this concurs with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration vision requirement of 20/40 vision for all CDL drivers.
If you fail the eye exam you will need to visit your doctor, correct the vision problem, and return to DMV with the Report of Visual Status.
You may also be required to take a new physical exam. Ask your DMV office if this applies to you.
Driving with an expired license is against the law. You can be sure any Delaware police officer will ticket you for driving without a valid license.
Those with a hazmat endorsement must undergo a new TSA background check every five years. This means you may have to take care of the background check during years in which your CDL is still good.
This is not a renewal; you will have to undergo the background check the same way as you did initially. Current fees for this are $89.25. For more info, see the hazmat section in Applying for a New CDL, or call the TSA.
You must self-certify your type of vehicle operation with the Delaware DMV by January 2014. This means you must self-certify one of the following driving categories:
- Non-Excepted Interstate
- Excepted Interstate
- Non-Excepted Intrastate
- Excepted Intrastate
If you choose Non-Excepted Interstate, you must provide the DMV with a federal medical certificate.
Submit a completed self-certification application by:
- Faxing to: (302) 739-2602; Attention―CDL Department
- Mailing to:
- Delaware Division of Motor Vehicle
- Attn: CDL Department
- P.O. Box 698
- Dover, DE 19901
Questions? Call (302) 744-2572 and ask for a medical certification customer service representative.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
Instant Driving Record
Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record.
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.