Point Reduction in Delaware
Delaware allows drivers to enroll in defensive driving courses once every 3 years for:
- Point reduction or credit. The DE DMV will remove 3 points from your driving record, or credit those points (if you don’t have 3 points to remove) to use if you ever accumulate points.
- Auto insurance discounts.
Fortunately, the state approves a variety of both classroom and online driving courses, so you can choose the course that best fits your learning style and schedule. Because of other daily commitments, like work and family, many drivers opt to enroll in online courses they can complete in their own homes.
For more information, please visit our Defensive Driving in Delaware page.
Behavioral Modification/Attitudinal Driving Courses
These courses aren’t for point reduction or ticket dismissal, but note that you might run across one if:
- You commit an offense the court deems serious enough to require a modification course.
- You accumulate 12 points or more. Generally, the DMV notifies you in this instance.
Traffic school in Delaware usually lasts about 6 hours. Generally, online courses don’t require you to stay logged in the time; you can complete a section and log out, returning when you’re ready.
As you complete the course, not only will you be working toward a point reduction and insurance discount, but you’ll also be:
Other Topics in This Section
- Refreshing your traffic law knowledge.
- Learning the best defensive driving techniques.
- Getting tips on how to handle a variety of driving situations, including inclement weather, and high volume traffic.