Pay Traffic Ticket in Delaware
Depending on the DE county where you received your traffic ticket, you may be able to pay your fine (for a voluntary assessment ticket) online, by mail, by phone, by fax, or in person. Be sure to pay your traffic ticket within 30 days of receiving it.
To find out about your specific requirements, refer to your DE traffic ticket or contact the court handling your case.
Continue reading for instructions on how to pay your traffic ticket in Delaware.
(Choose Voluntary Assessment)
- Pay the fine.
- Accumulate driving record points.
- Use defensive driving course to offset driving record points and get an auto insurance discount.
Learn more below
(Plead Not Guilty)
- Contest the ticket during a hearing.
- Hire a traffic ticket lawyer or represent yourself.
- Participate in the Probation Before Judgment Program (if eligible).
- Possibly forfeit the opportunity to avoid points.
- Face no penalties if found not guilty.
- Appeal the guilty verdict (if applicable).
Learn more about
Fighting Your Traffic Ticket »
What It Means to Pay Your Traffic Ticket
Most states call this a “guilty plea," but Delaware calls it the “voluntary assessment" option.
If you use this option you may be able to:
- Pay your DE traffic ticket fine without stepping foot in a court.
- Avoid accumulating driving record points.
- Use a state-approved defensive driving course for point reduction.
- Enroll in a DE defensive driving course to get a discount on your auto insurance rates (which will likely increase due to the violation).
Regardless of how you choose to plead, you must appear in court if:
- You're a minor.
- Your traffic ticket states a court appearance is mandatory.
Failure to respond to your DE traffic ticket by the date printed on your traffic citation can result in an arrest warrant and driver's license suspension. Usually, this date is within 30 days of receiving the traffic citation, but it can vary by court.
Voluntary Assessment as a CDL Driver
Using the voluntary assessment option is the same as admitting guilt. If you have a commercial driver's license (CDL) you may face harsher penalties compared to someone with a regular driver's license.
Learn more on our Traffic Ticket Fines and Penalties page.
NOTE: You must notify your employer within 30 days after being convicted of a traffic violation.
Plead Not Guilty in Delaware
Just because using the voluntary assessment option is convenient, it doesn't mean that it's the best option for you. You can also request a hearing and fight your traffic ticket in court.
Learn more on our Fighting Your Traffic Ticket page.
Pay Your Delaware Traffic Ticket Online
The Delaware Criminal Justice Information System (DELJIS) provides an ePayment tool for you to pay your traffic ticket online.
Aside from having an acceptable form of payment (a major credit card or check), there are only two requirements for using the program:
- The court handling your DE traffic ticket is a participating court.
- You have your traffic citation number. (If you've misplaced your traffic ticket, our section on Lost DE Traffic Tickets can help you find this information.)
Eligible? Head on over to the ePayment system.
Determine Where You Got Your Traffic Ticket
Basically, there are three types of courts that handle traffic citations in Delaware:
- Alderman's Courts.
- Courts of Common Pleas.
- Justice of the Peace Courts.
The court handling your DE traffic ticket depends on where you received your ticket. Your ticket should include this information, but if it doesn't―or you've lost your ticket―contact the Voluntary Assessment Center at (302) 739-6911.
Visit the Proper Delaware County Website
The Delaware State Courts website provides an online court directory. You can use this directory to locate your court by county or court type, as well as find office hours and contact information.
Pay Your DE Traffic Ticket
If you can't use the ePayment system, you can also pay traffic tickets by mail, by phone, or in person.
These options might vary by court; for example, they are all options if you're going through a Justice of the Peace Court, but they might not all be options if you're going through a smaller Alderman's Court.
Generally, traffic citations in Delaware (including civil red light ticket violations) outline this information, providing the appropriate mailing and physical address, and phone numbers; however, you can use the basic information below.
Pay Ticket by Mail
Using a personal check, money order, or credit card (you fill in the credit card information on the traffic ticket), you can mail your payment along with a copy of the traffic citation to the Voluntary Assessment Center at:
State of Delaware -
Voluntary Assessment Center
P.O. Box 7039
Dover, DE 19903
Pay Ticket by Phone
You can use a credit card to pay your ticket by phone. Call the Voluntary Assessment Center at (302) 739-6911.
Pay Ticket in Person
To pay your DE traffic ticket in person, you must visit your traffic court.
Remove Points from Your DE Driving Record
In Delaware, you won't receive driving record points if your violation was:
- Speeding 14 MPH (miles per hour) or less over the limit and you choose the voluntary assessment option.
- Part of the Electronic Red Light Safety Program.
You also have the option to complete one of the state's approved defensive driving courses to offset up to 3 points associated with your traffic violation.
Check Your DE Driving Record
Be sure to check your Delaware driving record after:
- You pay your DE traffic ticket fine. You want to make sure only the applicable number of points are added to your driving record.
- You complete a defensive driving course. You want to make sure 3 points were credited to your driving record.
Shop for Better Auto Insurance Rates
Your auto insurance company may increase your rates after you've been convicted of a traffic violation. Fortunately, you can enroll in a defensive driving course to get a discount on your car insurance rates.
For some, this discount might not offset the violation-related increase. If this applies to you, you can begin comparing insurance quotes online to find a more affordable rate.
NOTE: Violations under the Electronic Red Light Safety Program do not impact auto insurance rates.