Special Vehicles in DelawarePage Overview
Delaware Special Vehicles
If you own a vehicle other than a car or truck, you may need to register it before you can legally operate it in Delaware. Not all vehicles need to be registered with the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Continue reading this page to learn all about what types of vehicles must be registered and how to complete the process.
Failing to register your vehicle (if required) may result in fines and other penalties.
If you're a Delaware resident, your moped, tri-ped, and motor scooter must be registered and titled if you'll be using them on public roads. Follow the steps on our Register Car in Delaware page.
You must have a valid DE driver's license to operate your moped/tri-ped, and have a motorcycle endorsement on your driver's license to operate a motor scooter. You must also wear a safety helmet when operating these bikes. The state recommends that you wear bright clothing as an extra safety precaution.
Mopeds and tri-peds need to have a light on the front and the rear, and a bell or horn. Motor scooters must meet the same safety equipment requirements as a motorcycle and must pass a safety inspection during the registration process.
You cannot drive your moped or triped on interstates or limited-access highways, or on areas designated as bicycle paths, unless the motor has been turned off.
The cost to register your moped or triped is $5 for 3 years. The title and registration process is the same for any type of vehicle in Delaware, so if you've registered your car, you should be familiar with the routine.
You must register your off-highway vehicle (OHV) with your local Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). When you register, you'll need to provide a complete description of the vehicle, including the serial number, and pay a $6 registration fee. Your registration will be valid for 3 years, after which you must renew it.
You must be 18 years old to register your OHV unless your parent or legal guardian can provide written consent on the application and accompany you to the DE DMV office.
NOTE: Your OHV must have brakes and a muffler to reduce the noise level by 60%. OHVs are not allowed on public roads.
Delaware does not require registration or titles for golf carts or snowmobiles, and they cannot be driven on public roadways.
You must register your boat with the Division of Fish & Wildlife, part of Delaware's Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control. Your boat trailer must be registered with your local Delaware DMV.
For more information, visit our Boat Registration and Licenses in Delaware page.
If you have a custom-built car, you can find all the information you need on our Custom Built Car Registration in Delaware page.
If you own a recreational vehicle (RV), or are thinking of buying one, check out our RV & Motorhome Registration page for helpful information on titling and registering your new toy.Other Topics in This Section
Organ Donation Survey
- Register Car
- Registration Renewal
- Registration & Insurance
- Replacing a Lost Registration
- RV & Motorhome Registration
- Custom Built Car Registration
- Boat Registration and Licenses
- Title Transfers
- Replacing a Lost Title
- Salvaged Vehicles
- Special Vehicles
- Drivers with Disabilities
- License Plates & Placards
- Smog Check and Car Inspection
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸