Motorcycle Registration in Delaware
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
Motorcycles and other two-wheeled vehicles with engines fall into the category of motor vehicles. As a Delaware resident, you need to register your motorcycle to drive it on the roads.
Follow the same registration procedure used for cars, vans, SUVs, and pickup trucks.
To register your motorcycle in Delaware, the vehicle must be kept here. Sometimes this is called garaging―is your motor vehicle garaged in Delaware?
Remember, if you are under the age of 18, ask a parent or guardian to sign the title paperwork.
Delaware requires each driver to be financially responsible. As far as your auto insurance goes, this means having liability insurance to pay for any damage or injury related to an accident.
For your policy to qualify, the insurance company that issues the insurance must be licensed by the Delaware Insurance Commissioner. When you bring your motorcycle to the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for inspection, be sure to bring proof of insurance:
- Original insurance policy
- Identification card
Any licensed insurance company should know the minimum requirements for liability insurance. Still, it is ultimately up to you to be sure you buy enough insurance:
- $10,000 for injury in any one accident
- $10,000 for property damage in one accident
- 15,000 for death or injury of one person in one accident
- $30,000 for death or injury of two or more persons in any one accident
When you are registering your motorcycle, if you don't have the right kind of liability insurance your cycle will not be inspected. If you drop your insurance after passing inspection and getting a vehicle registration, then you are in violation of the law. Penalties and even suspensions of your registration or drivers license will be used if you are discovered operating without insurance.
Delaware DMV offices inspect all vehicles before issuing registration. Because you will have to wait in line, it is a good practice to check over your motorcycle very carefully before presenting it to the DMV for inspection.
Essentially, your motorcycle must be in good working condition with all installed safety features working properly. If you are able to take the Motorcycle Rider Course, you will learn more about vehicle inspection during the course.
Registering your vehicle is the last step in the process. In fact, when you complete the registration process you will also apply for a title if necessary. You will need to transfer the title if you just bought or inherited the motorcycle.
In addition to any titling fees, you will pay the registration fee. Delaware offers several different registration periods depending on the model of your vehicle:
- $20 for one year
- $40 for two years
- $100 for five years― new autos
When you have finished the registration process you will be given a registration card and motorcycle tags. The license plate, or tag, goes on the back of your motorcycle.
The DMV gives you a large window of time to complete the renewal of your registration. You can renew anytime during the three-month period before your registration expires.
To encourage you to renew early, the DMV doesn't set your expiration date from the renewal date but from your original expiration date. In other words, if you renew early your registration could last longer than the one-, two-, or five-year period.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
- 5 Reasons to Welcome Big Brother Into Your Car
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.