Motorcycle Manual in DelawarePass Your Test with DMV Cheat Sheets
Get answers, save time and pass your motorcycle written test the first time around. DMV Cheat Sheets also offers:
- Steps to getting your license
- 50 essential study-guide questions
- Traffic signs and signals
Simply print and pass or your money back guaranteed.Page Overview
- What's in the DE Motorcycle Manual?
- Apply for a Motorcycle License
- Motorcycle Insurance in Delaware
- Related Content
Verified As Of: 05/09/2015?Our goal is to give you the most up-to-date, accurate information about your state DMV's processes. The date you see here reflects the most recent time we've verified this information with your state DMV. When they change something, we do, too!SUMMARY: Delaware Motorcycle ManualKeep reading to learn more about the motorcycle manual in Delaware.
The motorcycle manual, available to Delaware residents, contains motorcycle operation instructions and other relevant information. You'll also read about how to get a motorcycle license and motorcycle insurance requirements.
The Motorcycle Operator Manual(Doc 45), provided by the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), provides an overview of motorcycle operation.
The handbook explains things like:
- Choosing a motorcycle and safety gear.
- Riding safely and avoiding hazards.
- The effects of alcohol and drugs when riding a motorcycle.
- Operating motorcycles with 3 wheels.
In addition to operation and safety topics, the manual has information about getting a DE motorcycle license endorsement.
The DE DMV offers a few ways to get a motorcycle license. Requirements differ based on your age.
If you are younger than 18 years old, you MUST complete a motorcycle training course.
If you are at least 18 years old, you have the choice between completing a training course OR passing the Delaware DMV tests.
You'll find more information about each option below.
Motorcycle Training Courses
Motorcycle training courses provide a combination of classroom and motorcycle instruction. Courses include a written test and skills test.
NOTE: If you are younger than 18 years old, you MUST complete a motorcycle training course to apply for a motorcycle endorsement.
Online course registration is offered on the Delaware DMV website.
The DE motorcycle manual has more information about motorcycle course options and benefits.
If you don't complete an approved motorcycle training course, you will have to get a motorcycle learner's permit before you can apply for your motorcycle license.
First, you have to pass a written knowledge test to get a motorcycle permit. The permit will be valid for 6 months.
You can prepare for the test by taking some DMV practice tests and reviewing the motorcycle handbook.
Once you've held your motorcycle permit for at least 10 days, you can take the riding skills test. After passing the riding test, you will be eligible for your motorcycle license.
You are required to have motorcycle insurance to legally operate your motorcycle in DE.
Failure to have sufficient coverage can result in a fine or a driver's license suspension.
You'll be eligible for a 10% insurance discount if you complete the basic motorcycle training course.
If you complete a higher level course later, you may be eligible for an even bigger discount.Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 Steps
1. Enter Your Zip:Recommended ArticlesOther Topics in This Section