Identification Cards in DelawarePage Overview
Identification Cards in Delaware
An identification card is handy to have if you don't have any other photo identification, such as a driver's license. The Delaware ID card is an official document that proves who you are and where you live.
If your driver's license has been suspended or revoked, you may want to get an identification card to help you when banking, applying for work, registering for school, or using a credit card.
You qualify for an identification card if you are a Delaware resident and you present the required proof of ID (see below). To be considered a resident, you must have a permanent address in Delaware. Note that if you are younger than 18 years old, a parent or guardian with a photo ID must sign for you.
If you are not a U.S. citizen but are legally residing in the state, you qualify for an identification card. You will need to show documents that prove you are living in Delaware legally.
To apply for a state identification card, you must visit a Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles office, fill out an application, and submit it along with the necessary accompanying documents:
- Proof of identity, such as:
- Original or certified birth certificate.
- Valid U.S. passport.
- Certificate of naturalization.
- Proof of the primary document must include the applicant's full name and date of birth. It must be verifiable, which means that the DMV agent must be able to contact the issuing agency to verify the document's authenticity.
- 2 documents proving your residency, such as a(n):
- Utility bill.
- Credit card statement.
- Auto insurance policy.
- Proof of Social Security, such as a:
- Social Security card.
- W-2 form.
- 1099 form.
- Although a Social Security card is not required, applicants must be able to provide their Social Security number on the application. However, non-U.S. citizens will only be required to provide proof of legal presence in the United States.
If you need further information, please refer to this list of acceptable documents.
The fee for a Delaware DMV ID card is $20.
Your identification card expires 4 years after your next birthday. However, it can be renewed before the expiration date to remain up to date.
If you would like to renew your card before it expires, you can do so in person at any Division of Motor Vehicles office in Delaware.
You will need to bring your current ID card with you. If you are unable to bring your current identity card for whatever reason, you will need to provide additional documentary proof to obtain a new card. A full list of acceptable documents can be found here.
The fee to renew ID cards is $20. Methods of payment include:
- Money orders.
- Debit cards.
- Credit cards from Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover.
Please note that if a personal check is found uncollectible, you will be charged a penalty fee of $25. If the original $20 fee plus the $25 penalty fee are not paid within 10 days, your driver's license and/or ID card will be suspended.
Non-driver ID cards that are lost, stolen, damaged, or destroyed can be replaced in person at any Delaware DMV.
At the Division of Motor Vehicles office, you will need to submit a completed application for a duplicate license, as well as 3 documents of identification. At least 1 document must include your signature. Please see the state of Delaware's official website for a complete list of acceptable documents.
The fee for a duplicate state ID card is $10.
Change Your Address
You must notify the Delaware DMV of all address changes within 30 days. You can file an address change notification via mail by filling out the DMV Change of Address Form. Notifications can also be filed in person at any DMV office. No fee is necessary for this service.
Change Your Name
Just like a change of address, a change of name will need to be reported to the DMV within 30 days of the legal change. You must visit a Delaware DMV office in person to change the name on your driver's license and/or identification card, vehicle title, and vehicle registration (if applicable). To verify your name change, you will need to bring your former Delaware ID card, and any court documents that prove the name change, such as a marriage certificate. The fee for a new identification card is $1.15.Other Topics in This SectionOrgan Donation Survey
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸
- Proof of identity, such as: